Hot Water Boiler

Post Reply
User avatar
cf1
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:43 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: insert
Location: north east ohio

Post Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 12:48 pm

Been burning coal since oct, my hot water boiler hasnt come on.. Im afraid now that its geting very cold that the pipes going into the atic might freeze. is there any way I can run this enough with out the burner lighting to circulate the water in the pipes to keep from freezing? thanks

User avatar
JB Sparks
Member
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 8:09 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman - Chubby
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman: SF160 - Chubby Sr.
Location: north central Mass.

Post Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 1:01 pm

Cfi,

If your attic is not vented just open up the hatch and let the heat keep the attic from freezing. There's not much else you can do between now and the time the temp. is going to take a nose dive tonite.

It is better to spend a few bucks running the oil-fired boiler than to fix all the water damage you would get from pipes in the attic freezing.

JB

User avatar
North Candlewood
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun. Dec. 09, 2007 9:00 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Eshland S-130
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 120
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 1602
Baseburners & Antiques: Princess Atlantic Cookstove
Coal Size/Type: Nut Rice
Location: Ct

Post Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 1:27 pm

If you have pipes in the attic,the system should have anti freeze in it . (Must be an air handler) If not you better get it done!
You could hot wire the circ and if there is a zone valve for that zone you would have to open it as well.


User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6624
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 1:44 pm

Hmmm... what kept them from freezing before? If they were going to freeze, they'd have done it while using oil. All you need is an hour or so with no call for heat and they'd catch. I'm guessing if they haven't frozen by now, they must be close enough to the ceiling or something. It's one of those "we'd have to see it" circumstances. "Pipes in the attic" can mean anything from them being right out in the open to against the sheet rock and under 12" of insulation.

User avatar
cf1
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:43 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: insert
Location: north east ohio

Post Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 8:05 pm

I think I will just run the furnace every so often to keep it circulating.theres some heat raps in some places on the pipes but I don't want to take the chance. Thanks guys

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Boilers Using Anthracite”