Pics of My Boiler Cleaned up and My 3 Tons of Coal

Bobs86GN

Post by Bobs86GN » Wed. Aug. 06, 2008 8:36 pm

I'm a coal newbie-I admit it. But, I installed this boiler 27 or 28 years ago when I built this house myself. I think I tried to burn coal in it just 1 time but I didn't really know what I was doing. Since I had access to oak from trees on my lot that is what I burned in it for most of these years. The boiler is plumbed in parrallel with my oil burner. With a wood fire burning in the boiler the system worked flawlessly- oil burner never has to turn on even in the dead of winter. I have to admit that I tended to get away from using the boiler in recent years as my wood supply had to be purchased from other people. I still have way more trees on my lot than anyone in my neighborhood :D . I tended to use my Tempwood downdraft stove in the living room which did a fine job heating most of my house (1500 sq ft 1st floor plus 1000 sq ft. 2nd floor with a large open foyer where the stairway is located. I teach carpentry in a vocational school and I have plenty of kindling that I can burn-the kids are great at making sawdust and kindling ;) and that's mostly what I have been burning recently. After calling for cords of wood and not getting my phone calls answered - started to look at coal as an alternative. I have to say that this web site is unbelievable :o I have spent hours upon hours reading all the threads and I am amazed at the info and the camaraderie that people have simply because they burn coal! Pretty cool. Anyway, this boiler is 27 or so yrs old ad made by a company in Mansfield MA called Hytec Systems Inc. No longer in business. I just located the paperwork on it when I was cleaning my cellar. The literature is pretty interesting (oil and gas price spiral, freedom fom gas and oil, heat for 1/2 the cost of oil,etc). The literature says that it is designed and tested to burn anthracite coal and wood and is adaptable for bituminous coal and waste materials-n