Tips/Tricks for a newbie!

btarby15
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite, Stove
Other Heating: Heatmor 100CB

Post by btarby15 » Wed. Jan. 20, 2021 2:10 pm

Reposting this, since I realized I posted this on the wrong part of the forum...doh!

Hi! I am new to burning coal and have read several posts on here to get some tips/tricks. Any and all knowledge is welcome!

My setup: I have a Heatmor100 CB, outdoor coil boiler. My house is around 2200sq ft, stone farmhouse (no insulation). The firebox in the boiler is about 24" deep x 28" wide, I've read that I should keep the coal pile around 8" thick. The boiler has a fan that can blow undergrate or overgrate, with a removeable slide. Put the slide in, air is blown undergrate. Take the slide out, it blows overgrate. It's supposed to be able to slide half out to get a bit of both, but it doesn't like to stay in place like that. For coal, undergrate air is best, right? Once the water in the boiler gets to 185F, the fan shuts off, and banks the fire until the water cools back down to 165F.

What are some good tips and tricks for a newbie? 8" coal bed? Undergrate air supply? Do I rake the coals before adding more? If I have a decent coal bed (ie it hasn't burned down much since filling), it is bad to "top it off" with a few shovel's full, or should I just leave it?

https://heatmor.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/22 ... r_Guts.pdf

Jlinde37
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: DS Aquagem 3200
Coal Size/Type: Nut/Pea

Post by Jlinde37 » Wed. Jan. 20, 2021 3:21 pm

Well I dont have any experience with outdoor boilers but I do use handfed boiler.
Fill firebox with coal(after an established coal bed) up to the bottom of the feed door. Bed can also be ramped or humped toward the back. Coal needs very little to no secondary air(over fire air) . All the air shoukd be coming up thru the bottom of the bed. Do you have baraometric damper in the flue? Draft setting is crittical in keeping hot air inside boiler to transfer to the water.