Installing DS 1100 Aqua Gem and gravity flow radiant floor heat.

Chancey P.
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: DS Stoves 1100 Aqua Gem/ Gravity flow radiant heat.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark I
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Nut Coal

Post by Chancey P. » Fri. Feb. 28, 2020 11:49 am

I am new to the form, and would like input on installing a DS 1100 Aqua Gem boiler and gravity flow radiant floor heat. The house is 24' x 48' ranch style (single level) in central NY. I'm pretty much set on the gravity flow setup. After using a coal stove for the past 9 years, I really think the gravity flow will integrate flawlessly with the slow and steady ways of coal and also if the power goes out I don't have to worry about the heat. I have some great folks assisting with the installation and layout plans, they have experience with this type of system and boiler specifically. But, I like to get input from others as well. I was wondering if anyone has had first hand experience with gravity flow radiant floor heat specifically. And if you could tell me any of it's quirks, or the details I should be conscious of while installing it. If you have any questions please ask.

coalder
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: harman sf 160
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: wood parlor stove

Post by coalder » Fri. Feb. 28, 2020 2:49 pm

Welcome aboard C. While I don't have any experience with a radiant floor system; I have been heating my home for 7 yrs with a hand fed boiler & pretty much a gravity system. I have hot water baseboard & simply put a bypass line with a ball valve from the coal boiler to the main loop. I simply crack the ball valve till the far end of the loop feels somewhere between warm & hot. & that seems to be the sweet spot. The water flows freely, circulator rarely engages, primary draft rarely opens as idle air is set to maintain 200* on the load door & if I have a power outage, no big deal. Good luck with your venture.
Jim

dbsuz05
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson