Running OWB on Anthracite

cuda567
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: OWB burning Anthracite

Post by cuda567 » Mon. Dec. 10, 2018 1:09 pm

Hi guys, first post on this site and hopefully the pros on here can help me,
I have a heatmor 200 outdoor wood boiler that I have been running on wood for approx 10 years. Amazing boiler and have never had an issue with it. I am converting it to nut anthracite and can not seem to get it to last past 6hrs without it dying. The pic is after 5hrs and when it goes out there is alot of coal left in the box as shown. Doesnt seem to burn the coal completely. The stove has an aquastat that controls the combustion fan on and off, I have it set at 160 with a temp differential of 5 degrees so the fan will come on often. I have tried cracking the ash cover to allow a natural draft but it did not seem to do anything.
any help would be appreciated.

hotblast1357
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1984 Eshland S260 coal gun
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh anthracite pea
Other Heating: air source heat pump, oil furnace

Post by hotblast1357 » Mon. Dec. 10, 2018 1:12 pm

Need to be shaken and add a lot more coal to that. It should be rounded up from brick to brick, you can prob put another 40 pounds on it, there’s not much life left in the picture, it’s mostly burn up, especially in the front.

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Mon. Dec. 10, 2018 1:52 pm

cuda567 wrote:
Mon. Dec. 10, 2018 1:09 pm
Hi guys, first post on this site and hopefully the pros on here can help me,