Newbie With a Simplex Multitherm Boiler

artbar56
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Simplex Multitherm CHF-120
Coal Size/Type: Stove/Hard Coal

Post by artbar56 » Sat. Nov. 15, 2014 10:40 pm

Good Evening All,
As I posted in my intro., my name is Art and I'm new to coal and to the boiler. My family and I recently purchased a home from 1853. The house is equipped with a Simplex Multitherm model: CHF-120. Presently, we are using oil but the furnace seems to drink that up fairly quickly. I found a local coal company (Cumberland Valley Coal) and the gentleman sounded knowledgeable. I'm getting a delivery the middle of next week. $234/ton plus $20 delivery of nut-sized medium hardness coal. This was his recommendation. If anyone has ANY helpful hints and tips, I would be grateful (no pun intended). The pictures were taken with my phone. If needed, I can use a regular DSLR for better pics. Thank you all!

Attachments

IMAG0106.jpg
.JPG | 73.7KB | IMAG0106.jpg
IMAG0105.jpg
.JPG | 81.8KB | IMAG0105.jpg
IMAG0104.jpg
.JPG | 59.3KB | IMAG0104.jpg
IMAG0103.jpg
.JPG | 101.4KB | IMAG0103.jpg
IMAG0102.jpg
.JPG | 75.7KB | IMAG0102.jpg

blrman07

Post by blrman07 » Sun. Nov. 16, 2014 7:45 am

Hi Art. check out this link from someone else that has a Simplex Multitherm unit.

Simplex Multitherm

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Sun. Nov. 16, 2014 9:58 am

You are a first time coal burner? This is quite a beast to start out with. The firebox in this unit is much larger than what most people are used to seeing with stoves. When you shake the ashes down and reload with fresh coal, it is very important that you don't completely cover the fire with fresh coal...always leave some of the burning coal exposed. This burns off the gasses released from the fresh coal, if you do not do this the firebox will fill with gasses and can create an explosion.