Do You Need to Adjust Your Baro Wt as the Season Progresses?

If you are in need of a more conventional heating solution that requires no power look no further. Unlike an automated stoker boiler these units do not require power to generate heat. They can be set up wiith pumps like a typical boiler or a gravity fed sytem insuring heat during power failures. Models include many New Yorker coal boilers, EFM WCB-24 and others. Some of these units can also burn wood.
Post Reply
User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12253
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW)
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:06 pm

Last winter I found that I needed to move my barometric dampers balance weight outward a fair bit (though a little at a time) as the season progressed. And to start this season, after cleaning it well, I had to run the balance weight back in a bunch. Does anyone else come across this, or do you find that they stay put for the season after only one adjustment?
-Larry

Democracy rests upon the principle that collective wisdom arises from a pool of individual ignorance. A Republic rests squarely upon objective law, and fundamentally upon those laws which restrict the scope and actions of government.

User avatar
Dennis
Member
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 5:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size
Location: Pottstown,Pa

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:10 pm

is there any fly ash build up on the back of the baro plate

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12253
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW)
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:12 pm

I'm fairly certain that was the problem last season. Only perhaps 1/16" or so accumulated on it all season though. Do you routinely brush them down?
-Larry

Democracy rests upon the principle that collective wisdom arises from a pool of individual ignorance. A Republic rests squarely upon objective law, and fundamentally upon those laws which restrict the scope and actions of government.


User avatar
Dennis
Member
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 5:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size
Location: Pottstown,Pa

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:14 pm

I shop vac mine

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11363
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:20 pm

I brush the flyash off monthly, but I have never re-adjusted the baro.

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12253
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW)
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:31 pm

I'm going to brush it down monthly this season. And perhaps vacuum it also.
-Larry

Democracy rests upon the principle that collective wisdom arises from a pool of individual ignorance. A Republic rests squarely upon objective law, and fundamentally upon those laws which restrict the scope and actions of government.


Dann757
Member
Posts: 3365
Joined: Sat. Sep. 06, 2008 9:10 am

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:51 pm

I have a hand-fired, I adjust my baro all the time, constantly, to get the manometer to read where I want it... Took the mpd out last year. With a good draft going, I just hit the back side of the baro with a toothbrush and the fly ash gets carried away. Sorry to butt in from the hand fired section,,,, :D

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12253
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW)
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Sun. Oct. 14, 2012 5:59 pm

Dann757 wrote:I have a hand-fired, I adjust my baro all the time, constantly, to get the manometer to read where I want it... Took the mpd out last year. With a good draft going, I just hit the back side of the baro with a toothbrush and the fly ash gets carried away. Sorry to butt in from the hand fired section,,,, :D
Not a problem. Sometimes you have to do it in order to contribute good information. Well appreciated!
-Larry

Democracy rests upon the principle that collective wisdom arises from a pool of individual ignorance. A Republic rests squarely upon objective law, and fundamentally upon those laws which restrict the scope and actions of government.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11363
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 15, 2012 6:06 am

I have an old paintbrush that works perfectly for brushing off the backside of the baro.

Bratkinson
Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat. Jan. 31, 2009 12:29 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing III
Other Heating: Gas FA
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III
Location: Western MA

Post Tue. Oct. 16, 2012 6:35 am

I readjust my baro about every other week. Sometimes more often, if needed. I take a look at the manometer reading every time I empty the ash pan and add coal.

Typically, when it's warmer out (50s), I want a little more draft than .02-03 that I normally run. I find it easier than moving the little 'brick' that uncovers an extra vent to the chimney on my Alaska Channing. With my lousy memory, I'd probably forget to reset it.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Boilers Using Anthracite”