SF-260 Issues

DHNEPA

Post by DHNEPA » Sat. Dec. 11, 2010 1:06 pm

Hi, I'm new to NEPA and new to boilers. I purchased a house with an existing Oil/Coal parallel system using a SF-260. See the OLD Boiler PDF for the design. We spoke with the previous owner to learn the basics and fired the coil boiler up last week. We noticed that during a call for heat it would fire the oil boiler almost immediately even though coal boiler had 190 deg water available. In researching the issue, I found this very informative site ( thanks BTW for all the info). I discovered my SF-260's s350 controller was connected to the Grundfos between the boilers as the dump control. I learned here that the circulator pump between the boilers should run 24/7 or be wired to come on above 140 deg. I chose to connect it to run 24/7 during heating season. I also changed my dunp zone to use a dedicated taco 007 that I placed in-line with my original main circulator. See NEW Boiler PDF for design.

When testing the new design last night, the heat started to work perfectly. Upon a call for heat, the oil burner did not fire and the system used the water from the coal boiler. But... After a while I discovered the circulator between the boilers was pushing heat up into the house radiators by itself even when there was not a call for heat. It began to run constantly at about 150 deg. The house warmed up nicely, but... the boiler pump continued sending everything up to the house radiators.