Need Help Burning Coal in a Harman SF 260

KTM250

Post by KTM250 » Thu. Dec. 24, 2009 7:37 am

Hello all, I am about at my wits end with this Harman SF 260 boiler. It has been a nightmare from day one from installing the chimney to getting it plumbed in. Now I am struggling to get long burn times to keeping the water up to temp. I am also trying to heat my domestic hot water (with an external hydo stor tank) and that looks like it is not going to work well at all. I have tried all kinds of different settings from draft , to air flow controls on the ash pan door and shaking the bed differently. Not sure what is going on here but all I can say is that hand fired coal stoves suck. I have been using a stoker for about 8 years and never had problems. I was hoping that maybe there are some SF 260, 160 or 360 owners out there that may be able to help me. I do know that if I would have started burning coal with this unit I would have stopped a long time ago.
Thanks Bob

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WNY » Thu. Dec. 24, 2009 7:54 am

I would thats the problems with hand fed boilers, maintaining a good even temperature, it will vary with the amount of coal, burn, draft, etc.....others with one, will probably chime in....

What kind of water temps are you getting? do you have a pic of your install? what type of controls are you using.?

Robby

Post by Robby » Thu. Dec. 24, 2009 8:36 am

Good Morning and Merry Christmas,

If I can help. We heat with SF360. Sub-bituminous and wood, not much wood. Heating 2200 sq.ft bungalow w/2000 walkout basement in Alberta, Canada. Not so cold a climate as many would have you believe, but a long,long way from Florida.

You tell me what I can relate and I will.

Robby

coalkirk
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520 retired
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507 on standby
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh anthracite/rice coal

Post by coalkirk » Thu. Dec. 24, 2009 9:02 am

Bob,