use bituminous coal in anthracite stokers

RedDevil
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Yes
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Yes

Post by RedDevil » Sun. Mar. 01, 2020 7:26 pm

New here and probably an old ongoing question. I cannot find any new integrated stoker/furnace/boilers that use bituminous or sub/bit coal. I grew up burning Utah/Wyoming Bit or sub/bit coal both lump and the one size only stoker coal in Idaho. I have lived in the NE for the past 40 years and am also very familiar with burning anthracite coal from Pennsy. I am moving to North Dakota and know I can get Wyoming stoker coal quite cheaply per ton. I can also get ND lignite although I have no experience in using it. My question: are there really any stoker units (boiler/hot air/fireplace inserts) designed for anthracite that can burn bituminous or sub/bit. I can get an easy and cheap supply of either Wyoming stoker (not sure if bit or sub/bit) or very cheap ND lignite. I am quite aware of the different BTU, clinkering, coking, etc of all of them. Tired of hand-bombing and hope to find a stoker unit that works ok. Thanks for any help or input. Amazed at the knowledge of so many of you that I've read over the years. Excellent. Thanks.

RedDevil

Post by RedDevil » Sun. Mar. 01, 2020 7:55 pm

Any stoker units designed for anthracite that can burn western bituminous or sub/bit. or even lignite? Stoker boiler/furnace/fire place inserts?

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Sun. Mar. 01, 2020 8:22 pm

YouTube....

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Sun. Mar. 01, 2020 8:44 pm