Iron Fireman for Ky Coal?

deerefanatic
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Anthracite

Post by deerefanatic » Sat. Apr. 14, 2012 8:45 am

Hi guys, I'm up here in Northern Wisconsin. I've been burning chunk wood in a gasification stove for the last 4 years.. I've gotta get to something more hands-off. I was thinking of going to anthracite, but up here, it's super expensive...... Wood pellets are also spendy, and extrememly volatile.... THEN, I found an add where I can get 1.25" Kentucky stoker coal for $125/ton in bulk... 127 miles from my house...... I could easily get my years supply in 2 trips with my gooseneck.

So I enbarked on a massive craigslist search and found an Iron Fireman stoker in working condition for $200 in Ohio. I've talked to the owner and he said as soon as he gets home from a biz trip, he's going to snap some pictures and inspect the situation to see if the burner head is cemented into the boiler.... At this point, I've already told him I'd take it and to consider it sold. Just waiting for him to get back...

How well do these units work with Kentucky coal? Also, I'll need to have a boiler vessel to put this inside of. I have a good friend that owns a fab shop and has big press brakes, shears, etc so I can build a water jacket for it fairly cheap... he's done several outdoor wood boilers so he's got a good design for doors too.

What do you guys think? Am I jumping from the pot to the fire? LOL

carlherrnstein
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: combustioneer model 77B
Coal Size/Type: pea stoker/Ohio bituminous

Post by carlherrnstein » Sat. Apr. 14, 2012 5:21 pm

Before you buy somthing used and modify it to your needs, I think you should try to find somthing that will work well without modifications. I don't know what you price range is but I think you should consider a new stove/boiler here is a link to
ds machine stoves website http://rtstoves.com/stoves.htm.

How hands off are you looking for?