Excessive Smoke From Auger Tube

wyowa

Post by wyowa » Sun. Dec. 20, 2009 11:26 am

I have a hardin Automatic coal furnace. Fired it up last night and it ran fine fore a couple of hours ,then started to get smoke from auger tube. Having bought this unit used and I cant find any other name plate on it. Only name on fire door. I installed unit in garage de to trying to get it running quickest. Draft fan has a home made shutter on it, was set about half open. I had good burn with nice overall flame . Auger tube is laying flat. Should this have slight angle to it . there is some movement I can make in mounts. Any ideas welcome .

mr1precision
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130

Post by mr1precision » Sun. Dec. 20, 2009 2:03 pm

Have you checked your draft with a manometer? If you havent thats the best place to start.
To me and I'm no expert, it sounds like your draft could be less than what you need. Also you might want to check to make sure everything that should be sealed is sealed. On my AA-130 around the base is not particularly tight and thats the way it's supposed to be. If I lost my draft it would be coming out any place thats not tight. I hope this helps.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Sun. Dec. 20, 2009 2:35 pm

A photo will help us help you.. Your brand of stoker is not one I've heard of before, it may be a renamed version of a more common brand like EFM, GentlemanJanitor, Van Wert etc.

Usually if you have fumes exiting the auger tube, you have too much air or too tight/compacted coal bed. Also, many auger coal bins need to have a foot or two of coal over the auger to prevent fumes from escaping.. or a sealed coal bin.