Replacing fire brick liners for Chappee 8033 - mystery?

Chappee8033fan
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chappee 8033
Coal Size/Type: normally wood fired, nut coal occasionally

Post by Chappee8033fan » Tue. Jan. 11, 2022 4:09 pm

I've been burning a Chappee 8033 for about 5 years now, using it keep my garage shop warm. I normally burn wood, as my friendly neighbor objected to the coal smell one year, and as she's a good friend I switched back to wood, which has been my go-to fuel for about 50 years. I bought the stove locally from a homeowner who inherited it, and wasn't interested in using it. While well used, it was in quite good intact condition, and mostly by reading this forum learned how to use it and burn coal (briefly). I find it a delightful and reliable device, and early on realized (like almost all solid fuel manual stoves) one cannot let it run away from you, as it's hard to bring it home!