Russo CW1

Never done coal
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Russo Cw1

Post by Never done coal » Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 12:17 pm

Hello,

I have never used coal before, always have had wood stoves. I bought a used keystoker hearth 90, which is for sale as I felt I did not like the look.

I want to try coal in something before I buy a brand new one to get the feel of it. I found a Russo CW1. In great condition. They owner did not have the coal basket. Do I need that? Can I have one made or does someone know where I could get one. Also I see there is a small barometric dampener of some sort built into the side. Would I still need to add a barometric dampener before hooking up to my stainless steel liner? I appreciate all they help here. I like the hitzer insert and would love to buy it. But felt I really need to see how this whole coal burning works before I buy new.

BunkerdCaddis
Stoker Coal Boiler: Bairmatic-Van Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Van Wert VW85H
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Saey Hanover II working when I feel the desire, Waterford 105 out on vacation, Surdiac Gotha hiding somewhere
Coal Size/Type: pea/nut/rice/stove-anthracite, nut/stove bit when I feel the urge
Other Heating: oil fired hydronic

Post by BunkerdCaddis » Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 2:38 pm

Hi NDC and welcome to the forum. This question might be better asked up on the hand fired thread as I think this is more so a website issue oriented forum, but hopefully someone can move the thread over. Traffic here has gotten a little slow this past week (I think maybe guys have gotten up from there fires to open windows and realized it was getting nice out) but there will be more knowledgeable people along to help out. I'll try to give some input or point you in the right direction.