Wittigsthal Stove From Germany

kweis

Post by kweis » Sat. Jan. 26, 2013 1:03 pm

Newbie here. Thought I might be able to get some information on the proper operation of a Wittigsthal coal stove I purchased at an estate sale about 6 years ago. I believe it's from the 1930's from a small area known as Wittigsthal in southern Germany near the Chech boarder. It's brown enameled and firebrick lined with a hinged lid on top. I have never seen a stove like this before and I think it made to the US as a "spoils-of-war" item. The only name or word on it is Wittigsthal cast on the front. There is no other identifiying marks or writting on it so I don't think it was made to be imported at that time. It stands about 28" tall by 9" deep by 14" wide. Firebox is fairley samll with the firebrick lining. Big question is was it made to burn soft or hard coal & what size? I have burned nut size hard coal with ok results but it likes to burn that hot and not a lower temp with a longer burn time that I would prefer. Pea size &/or stove coal is not readily available in this area (central Maryland) that I've found to date. If I can find a way to post pictures here I'll try. Any information on this stove and it's proper operation at all would be much appreciated.

Regards, Kevin

ONEDOLLAR
Verified Business Rep.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: 2014 Chubby Prototype
Coal Size/Type: Nut/Anthracite

Post by ONEDOLLAR » Sat. Jan. 26, 2013 2:15 pm

Kevin

There is a member here on NEPA with the user name of firebug . He is in Germany. You can send him a PM (Private message) via this site. WIth a little luck he will see this post.

Pictures will also help the rest of North Americans give you some advice as well. :lol: WELCOME TO NEPA!

rychw
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by rychw » Sat. Jan. 26, 2013 5:46 pm

Pea size anthracite coal is available from HC Summers just South of Frederick Maryland. They sell it in 40 lb bags. Good luck with the stove.

firebug