Thermostat works the opposite way of what I need

jagonoja

Post by jagonoja » Thu. Dec. 24, 2020 8:07 am

Hello everyone, this is my first post, and I'm not an expert.

I have a condensation problem in my coal stove, and want to install a thermostat that basically turns off the pump, when the temperature is UNDER a certain degree.

As you may imagine, what happened is that this thermostat I've bought and installed (placed on the hot water pipe) turns off the pump ABOVE a certain temperature.

Is there anything I can do to savage the situation (with the wiring inside the thermostat), or what should I buy instead?

extra info:
I am an expat located in Kazakhstan so what I have available here is local/for the russian market and naming of product not straightforward.
My stove is a "Prometey" model, just installed after an accident with my old one. I like it so far except for the condensation problem, and the fact that it keeps circulating water when the fire dies off, something that I'd like to precisely remedy with the thermostat.

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Thu. Dec. 24, 2020 8:18 am

Welcome. Some controls can be setup either way, so it will depend on what model control you are using. Can you post a picture of the control?

KLook
Other Heating: Wishing it was cold enough for coal here....not really

Post by KLook » Thu. Dec. 24, 2020 8:27 am

IF you cannot get a unit that works in the way you need, perhaps you can get a simple relay that will change the functionality of the unit. I used relays to make my Rube Goldberg boiler work in Maine. And I shut it off on low temp also and allowed the gas boiler to fire.

Kevin

lsayre
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW), ComfortMax 75

Post by lsayre » Thu. Dec. 24, 2020 8:38 am