Blacksmithing coal

Deathless_Forge

Post by Deathless_Forge » Fri. Feb. 15, 2019 12:40 pm

Hello my new friends! My name is Brando Vanschoyck, I am from southeastern kentucky, hindman kentucky to be exact. I own and operate a small traditional blacksmithing business here in hindman called Deathless Forge. I am new to coal forging, I need some coal for blacksmithing. My mentor says that I need metallurgical coal, low sulfur, low ash high BTU and coal that cokes up. I am using some that he gave me, I think he may have said it was red onion? I am looking for a source of coal somewhat close to me that would sell me small quantities such as a pickup truck bed full of coal at a time. I would appreciate all help and suggestions, and I am here to learn! Thanks so much for your help!

Brando Vanschoyck

Deathless_Forge

Post by Deathless_Forge » Fri. Feb. 15, 2019 10:36 pm

Anyone ? Any advice at all is helpful and appreciated

cabinover
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid Axeman Anderson 130
Baseburners & Antiques: Sparkle #12
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Buckwheat, Nut
Other Heating: LP Hot air. WA TX for coal use.

Post by cabinover » Sat. Feb. 16, 2019 6:52 am

Not many folks here from that area but I'll give you a bump so your thread doesn't get lost in the fold. Someone may have your information and it's Saturday...hang in there.

Deathless_Forge

Post by Deathless_Forge » Sat. Feb. 16, 2019 8:19 am

cabinover wrote:
Sat. Feb. 16, 2019 6:52 am
Not many folks here from that area but I'll give you a bump so your thread doesn't get lost in the fold. Someone may have your information and it's Saturday...hang in there.
Thank you very much my friend! I definitely need coal and a steady supply! Gas forges just wont cut it on certain projects, especially demonstrations and reenactments!! I really appreciate your time!

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt