Rotting Steel Chimney Pipe - Causes and Remedies.

lonerinalaska
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman TLC 2000

Post by lonerinalaska » Sun. Jul. 17, 2016 9:20 am

I have a Harman TLC 2000 coal stove. I have been using the stove for 5 years. I designed and had my chimney fabricated. I used 6" steel (presumably cold roller) and I believe it was 3/16" thick, 18' long. About halfway through this last winter, I noticed what appeared to look like burnt spitwads sporadically appearing on the stove pipe. Come to find out, the pipe was rotting. I just took the pipe out and in some areas the steel was paper thin. The internal part of the stove around the top loading hatch is also slowly burning away, though much slower. The rest of the stove appears to be in good working order. I also noticed on the pipe that the closer to the top,the thicker the pipe still was.
Throughout some of the winters, we did not have a chimney cap. We would start out with a UL listed store bought one, but they would quickly corrode and blow off after 1 to 2 months. I was never brave enough to traverse our ice covered roof to replace it, so we would leave it until spring. We burn beach coal, bituminous coal that gets washed ashore at a nearby beach. So there is salt on the coal. I also store the coal in the garage, so it is dry.
My question is, what is the likely cause of the rotting pipe? Is it strictly the acid from the burnt coal, or could it have been that water was able to enter the pipe most of the winters and it mixed with the coal smoke. Does regular steel not last long with coal? I just replaced the pipe with 6" well casing, which is substantially thicker and I am hoping to get more than 5 years out of it.