Soot Build up

Indiana dave
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton model 1600m
Coal Size/Type: bit coal, egg to foot ball size

Post by Indiana dave » Mon. Jan. 05, 2015 11:21 am

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to home heating with coal. I have a Clayton model 1600 M and, am burning egg to football size bit coal. I have a five run of connector pipe which elevates gradually from the furnace to the chimney and am using a baro damper. My question is , I know the soot is flammable but, how heavy of deposit before it would ignite? It seems to build fairly quick in this run of pipe (1/8th inch in two days. I also have a manual damper in the connector that seems to minimize the build up , with it almost fully open and regulating the fire with primary and secondary air dampers. Any thoughts??@

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Mon. Jan. 05, 2015 12:15 pm

Disclaimer: I am NOT a bit burner, so take this for what it is. :)

Soot is un-burned fuel...find a way to burn it before it leaves the fire box and the issue will be greatly reduced or not exist.
Search and read of secondary burn. :idea:

SWPaDon
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 1600M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous
Other Heating: Oil furnace

Post by SWPaDon » Mon. Jan. 05, 2015 7:52 pm

Soot from coal isn't flammable that I'm aware of , you can check out this thread: Coal Stove Blamed for Douglas Fire

McGiever

Post by McGiever » Mon. Jan. 05, 2015 9:26 pm

I agree that coal soot is not as flammable as wood's creasote when it covers the interior surface of the chimney.

I was stating that if the fire consumes the fuel (carbon) better, then there will be less soot left over to coat/collect in the chimney. ;)
Last edited by McGiever on Tue. Jan. 06, 2015 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

franco b
Site Moderator