Will Coal Ash/Soot Corrode a Galvanized Metal Building?

RoundOak
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: ~1910 Round Oak
Other Heating: Wood

Post by RoundOak » Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 10:11 pm

Hi Y'all!

I'm new to using coal, so I've been lurking here reading up on it as much as I can, and I think I've got a pretty good grasp of things. (Just enough to be dangerous?)

A little info...

I have a Round Oak coal furnace in my workshop. I don't know the model, but it's a 72,760 BTU, 535 CU.IN. unit with a squirrel cage blower on the back and duct openings on top. It came from a house in northern Missouri that was built in 1910, but I don't know if it was installed then or added later.

I brought it back here to central Oklahoma to heat my workshop. I've been burning wood in it for the last several years but thought I'd try using coal, mainly so I can keep my workshop above freezing at night without having to add wood every two hours. I started searching the web for info on coal, went and bought a ton from a local mine, and thought I was all ready to go. BUT, I have one major concern...

Will the fly ash destroy my galvanized metal building?

It's an all metal building similar to these.
http://www.futurebuildings.com/future-steel-produ ... dings.html

I thought about switching to coal if I liked it because that's what the furnace is designed for, or just using the coal during the night and wood during the day. But I saw this post and now I'm afraid to even try using the coal at all.
Post by Jack Magnum - Fly Ash Vrs. Metal Roof

How many of y'all have metal roofs or workshops, and what kind of rust or corrosion problems have you had?

Thanks for the info!

Attachments

image001.jpg
.JPG | 169.2KB | image001.jpg
image002.jpg
.JPG | 96.8KB | image002.jpg
image003.jpg
.JPG | 121.1KB | image003.jpg

rockwood
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range