Has Anyone Burned Bitumus Coal.

colt

Post by colt » Tue. Nov. 16, 2010 3:06 pm

I found a guy with 100 tons of Bitumus coal has anyone had an experience with This type of coal.

Berlin

Post by Berlin » Tue. Nov. 16, 2010 4:28 pm

I have some ;) experience. where are you located? Did this "guy" tell you where his coal is from, size, etc.? Knowing about the coal will help us give you a reccomendation.

colt

Post by colt » Tue. Nov. 16, 2010 5:52 pm

I,m in Silverwood Mi the seller is in Sandusky Ohio and the only information that I can get about the coal is the size dime to quarter size.The coal was sold to his Dad by Cedar Point Amuesment Park and it's the slop left over from the train.

Berlin

Post by Berlin » Tue. Nov. 16, 2010 6:04 pm

well, if you're able to, Definitely go try it, it's likely decent quality stoker coal because of it's history as a fuel for a steam engine. I think the size is a bit smaller than what you'd find ideal, but it may work ok in your stove, just remember to "bank" it fire one side of the fuel bed thick and then fill the opposite valley on the next firing with coal of that small size. Bituminous is not like anthracite and the same size requirements and "rules" etc. don't apply. Lump size bituminous coal works best in almost any hand fired situation even though it's such a large size. there is a place near you that sells excellent (eastern KY bit coal is the best) Kentucky lump or "chunk" coal: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&um=1&ie=U ... 8395396225

wsherrick
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Base Heater, Crawford Base Heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford Base Heater, Glenwood, Stanley Argand
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut, Stove Size

Post by wsherrick » Tue. Nov. 16, 2010 7:09 pm

Hi Colt.