Grand Plan to Convert to Coal

nuke

Post by nuke » Wed. Jan. 31, 2007 1:11 am

I apologize for this lengthy discussion, but ever since coming to this site I have become enamored with the idea of burning coal. Also, I have been graduated from SIU since December and jobless (but searching) and I have needed an engineering problem to work on. My background is electronics and my father is a plumber and pipefitter. We have had many discussions about the following.

As you can see in the pictures, my grandmother’s house is heated using an ancient 60’s era gas boiler with series loop hot water heat system. Seeing the gas and electric bill under the new Illinois rate structure this month is making buying a new efficient boiler sensible. At one time my grandmother’s house was heated with some type of coal heat. The coal bin is still there, along with an enormous steel or iron tank. What could that large tank have been used for? As you can see in the pictures, there is a smaller tank that is connected to the domestic water from when the water was supplied by a cistern.