Sub-Bituminous Coal

valley trash

Post by valley trash » Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 2:18 pm

Hey guys, I just found this forum a little while ago and ive been trying to soak up all the knowledge I can since im new to coal. Ive tried to find as much info about sub-bituminous coal and the kind of stoves that can handle it. Being up here in Alaska doesnt really leave me too many options and the only other person ive met here who knows about coal is the guy trying to sell it to me. I was hoping you guys might be able to provide me with some info on sub-bituminous coal and what I should expect. Also the kind of stove im looking at using is just a simple hand fired radiant Hitzer model. Hitzer and Romax are the only stove brands my dealer carries. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

bksaun
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Legacy SF-270
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 503
Coal Size/Type: Stoker/Bit, Pea or Nut Anthracite

Post by bksaun » Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 4:29 pm

Sub-bituminous is in between Lingite and Bituminous, I have no experience with it, but expect it would be very sooty and smokey until the volitiles burn off. If you have close neighbors it might be a problem.

The hitzer stove is a very good product, I have no knowledge of the Romax.

Lingite was used heavily by the Germans during WWII.

Good luck.

Bk

P.S. How is Sarah? Enjoying a normal life I hope.

Duengeon master
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark III
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite pea and nut mix. Bituminous lump

Post by Duengeon master » Sun. Mar. 29, 2009 6:47 pm