Will the AHS 130 Heat a 3,000 Sq Ft House

brckwlt

Post by brckwlt » Sun. Feb. 01, 2009 8:25 pm

I was looking to buy the ahs-130, or a boiler similar to it. I need to know if it will be sufficient to heat an old circa 1900's brick exterior house with avg insulation. The house has radiators as a heat source, there are 3 floors to the house. Currently I have a natural gas water boiler H.B. Smith G200-W-7. It seems to be very old and, I do not know the exact year it was made. It says the input BTU is 225,000 and the heating capacity is 175,000. I see the ahs-130 claims to heat 4,000 sq ft and has a BTU of 130,000. I am new to all of this and don't understand how something that is less BTU then what I currently have can heat 4,000 sq ft? If someone could help me out and explain this to me I would appreciate it. thank you.

Freddy
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined

Post by Freddy » Sun. Feb. 01, 2009 8:31 pm

I'd guess the AHS130 would do the job. When they claim "heats 4,000 sq ft", that's more advertising than anything. Obviously it wouldn't heat a 4,000 sq foot tent at 20 below. As long as your house has some insulation and cats can't walk through the cracks in your windows I'd think the 130 would heat you with no problem. Do you live in NJ or Alaska? oh, I see Maryland. You don't ever see 25 below zero, yaaa, it should be fine. By the way, it's a beauty of a boiler.

brckwlt

Post by brckwlt » Sun. Feb. 01, 2009 8:33 pm

No, I live currently in Maryland. The Coal boiler would be for the house we are moving to in sunbury Pennsylvania.

brckwlt

Post by brckwlt » Sun. Feb. 01, 2009 8:42 pm

I was also interested in the Harman VF3000 Verti-Flow Stoker Boiler. same question as I originally posted would it heat my house 3,000 sq ft etc ... Does anyone have prices on either of these boilers?

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice