Burnt Smell While Running on the Oil Burner?

daluds
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 9:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EMF
Stove/Furnace Model: DF-520

Post Sun. Dec. 14, 2008 5:43 pm

Switched over to the oil burner while running occasionally on a generator due to a 3 day power outage this weekend. There is a strong burnt smell coming from the boiler. I believe the flame from the oil burner is burning off the excess boiler putty. I've had this in the past when the boiler was first installed before switching to coal, but thought it would go away. Any suggestions on how to reduce this smell? The oil burner is mounted on the left side and stoker on the right side. Should I scrap off the excess boiler putty with the unit off of course. :-)

Thanks

Dave

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6624
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Sun. Dec. 14, 2008 7:25 pm

Where'd all the putty (furnace cement?) come from? Sure, if there's extra, do away with it.

daluds
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 9:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EMF
Stove/Furnace Model: DF-520

Post Sun. Dec. 14, 2008 8:01 pm

Its all the extra boiler putty squeezed out once the boiler was placed on the base. I didn't know if I should scrap it off or leave it so I left it. Its the only thing I can think of that would cause my basement to fill up with burnt smell.

Dave

User avatar
coal berner
Member
Posts: 3590
Joined: Tue. Jan. 09, 2007 12:44 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1986 Electric Furnace Man 520 DF
Stove/Furnace Make: Electric Furnace Man
Stove/Furnace Model: DF520
Location: Pottsville PA. Schuylkill County PA. The Hart Of Anthracite Coal Country.

Post Sun. Dec. 14, 2008 9:38 pm

daluds wrote:Its all the extra boiler putty squeezed out once the boiler was placed on the base. I didn't know if I should scrap it off or leave it so I left it. Its the only thing I can think of that would cause my basement to fill up with burnt smell.

Dave
Actually you should have the putty going all the way around the base lip. The boiler sits 1.5 " down into the base.You will have a gap all the way around You must keep it sealed for air & Co leaks. The Oil gun sits pretty high up on the side of the boiler above the coal pot shooting the flame across to the otherside of the boiler hitting the other side. The base is several inches below where the flame should not be hitting the base.It might heat up the top of the base a little.So you might get a smell until the putty drys & hardens.You sould not be smelling anything if everything is sealed up correctly on the base and where the boiler meets. Also the three Plates the two sides and the rear should be sealed to aswell as both ends of the auger tube . And the two door gaskets . Should never smell anything. Unless you open the door when there is a coal fire going.The Oil gun should shut off with the safety mounted on the front of the boiler behind the front door Lache. Check your seals make sure everything is sealed up .

User avatar
Pa Dealer
Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri. Aug. 15, 2008 10:12 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM DF 520
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker
Location: NEPA

Post Mon. Dec. 15, 2008 7:33 am

Replace the nozzle ,use a 1.25 70 degree they work the best.Make sure its adjusted correctly. Boiler putty dries quickly I doubt thats the smell.

RY

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9912
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Dec. 15, 2008 5:33 pm

Check and see if the smell is coming from the coal side, maybe the combustion draft opening? Oil burns very hot and the firebox may be under positive pressure. You may have a baffle/etc. with a hole in it, or it may just be baking what is inside. Some brands are well known for eating themselves with continued use of the oil gun, however I would not expect that from an EFM.

User avatar
Pa Dealer
Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri. Aug. 15, 2008 10:12 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM DF 520
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker
Location: NEPA

Post Mon. Dec. 15, 2008 6:02 pm

The only problem with the 520 on oil for a long run is the baffle,it over heats and slowly breaks up especially with a 1.50 nozzle.

RY

daluds
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 9:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EMF
Stove/Furnace Model: DF-520

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 9:51 am

RY,

Is the 1.25 70 degree nozzle you recommended a hollow cone (Type A) or solid cone (Type B)?

Thanks,

Dave

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Pa Dealer
Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri. Aug. 15, 2008 10:12 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM DF 520
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker
Location: NEPA

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 1:53 pm

daluds wrote:RY,

Is the 1.25 70 degree nozzle you recommended a hollow cone (Type A) or solid cone (Type B)?

Thanks,

Dave
Type A and if not able to keep up use 1.35 70

RY

daluds
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 9:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EMF
Stove/Furnace Model: DF-520

Post Thu. Nov. 12, 2009 8:04 am

I need to switch to oil when I travel, but am finding the nozzle keeps getting clogged with baked on oil. Is there a recommend way to prevent this from happening? I have been using the 1.50 80A nozzles, and running on oil once a month to keep it going. Should I put some kaolwool inside between the nozzle and door to reduce the heat from the burning coal? I find once I put in a new nozzle it runs fine. I could take out the nozzle everytime I run coal, but this is a pain. I planning on trying a 1.25 70A nozzle soon.

Thanks,

Dave

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Thu. Nov. 12, 2009 11:17 am

What if you forget about the kaowool?

I haven't seen any recommendation to check the draft, so what is it? Was the burner ever set up with a Bacarac and smoke tester?

User avatar
Pa Dealer
Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri. Aug. 15, 2008 10:12 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM DF 520
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker
Location: NEPA

Post Thu. Nov. 12, 2009 3:31 pm

Yes unfortunately the heat of the coal fire cooks the nozzles. I also wanted to try a piece of KAO wool to insulate the nozzle but never got around to it. It is worth a try or keep a replacement nozzle handy. Pain in the butt, but you know you will get a good flame if you change it.
daluds wrote:I need to switch to oil when I travel, but am finding the nozzle keeps getting clogged with baked on oil. Is there a recommend way to prevent this from happening? I have been using the 1.50 80A nozzles, and running on oil once a month to keep it going. Should I put some kaolwool inside between the nozzle and door to reduce the heat from the burning coal? I find once I put in a new nozzle it runs fine. I could take out the nozzle everytime I run coal, but this is a pain. I planning on trying a 1.25 70A nozzle soon.

Thanks,

Dave

daluds
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 9:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EMF
Stove/Furnace Model: DF-520

Post Thu. Nov. 12, 2009 4:21 pm

Stoker-man,

It runs well on oil with a good nozzle. Draft is marginal, and have not found a good solution yet. Its slightly better after I widen the opening to the vertical chimney flue. Smoke was between 1 and 2 last time I checked. I'll check everything again once I put in a new 1.25 70A nozzle this weekend. I am considering opening up the boiler room to more outside air, and sealing it from the rest of the house, but don't want to put a whole in the side of the house. Maybe a window or one of those timer driven air exchangers.

Thanks,

Dave

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Fri. Nov. 13, 2009 6:33 am

If your house is too tight, a vent will help. If not, I suspect the chimney is not adequate, not high enough, or there is something above the chimney interfering.

Your burner should produce zero smoke. Your air settings are out of whack.

A louvered shutter, one that opens and closes according to room pressure, will supply air when needed and close when not.

daluds
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 9:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EMF
Stove/Furnace Model: DF-520

Post Fri. Nov. 13, 2009 4:13 pm

Since I started the coal from Gauley I get out fires everyday afternoon after starting it the night before. Not sure why. Yes, the chimney is too short since its off an extension of the house that is one story high rather than the main section of the house which is two stories high, and the basement is well insulated. I'll added an inlet for fresh air this weekend, and close off the boiler room to the rest of the house. Hopefully, this will fix it. I'll adjust the timer for the new coal too. Do you think this will help? Otherwise, I need a power vent.

Thanks,

Dave

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”