Silt and maybe ash rocks in feed ok or no?

Arel3
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by Arel3 » Mon. Aug. 08, 2022 7:46 pm

I'm not experienced with coal stokers with boilers. I don't know a thing about them other than they burn coal to heat water for the hot water supply for the radiators and spigots. About a month ago the fire went out. The person that usually cares for it cleaned and restarted it. A week later it shut down again, supposedly from overheating due to hot weather, and it stuffed it self full of coal because it kept feeding before someone noticed it was out and shut the feed off. The person that usually cares for it is MIA.

Another housemate shoveled out what over flowed and put it back in the feed barrel. What they put in the feed barrel is extremely dusty/powdery, could have hard ash and flyash in it for all I know. Is this an issue or is it ok to start it and run that stuff through?

I don't want to do all the extra work cleaning the feed barrel out, have extra down time, cause the mess emptying it's going to cause, and waste coal that's good if it's ok to run it.

I haven't done anything to avoid causing a worse situation by not knowing. The "family" needs hot water though, of course. We can't afford an HVAC service. I'm capable of doing it....if I knew what to do. My 30 years of mechanics experience taught me the bad situations people doing things with no knowledge on the subject can cause: The reason I'm researching and asking before doing.

Attachments

stoker_barrel_view.jpg

the feed barrel. I'm not sure the photo is good enough to share how dusty this stuff is. There's quite a bit of powderized coal in it and for all I know there's ash and flyash in it too.

.JPG | 419.9KB | stoker_barrel_view.jpg
stoker_feed_leak.jpg