Had a AA130…

Missywye
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axman Anderson 130

Post by Missywye » Sun. Oct. 31, 2021 11:55 am

Hello All!
I’m a newbie here, but have been firing AA130 for 8 or 9 winters. I’m in SW PA so coal is no problem, Thank goodness!! I love my 130 & it’s been keeping my house toasty & warm (So much better than the oil burner it came with!!) it’s a relatively large old plank 4 Square with lots of added ons in the last 100+ years (5 bedrooms). Very little insulation (it’s on the list🤷🏼‍♀️), but nice thick plaster walls.
My Dad built my 130 from his spare parts pile (Did I mention I think he’s a genius?) and we plunked it in my basement. The date stamp is so worn we don’t know how old it is.
This is all good news, bad news is that she sprung a leak when I got her good & hot this week… so I’m in a search for a replacement. I’ve found a few options, but several are 260s. I’m wondering what the possible downsides are to moving up to one. My concerns are keeping fire without burning too much coal. I have good draw in my chimney, but with bigger fan & firebox… I’m currently running to large old cast radiators, but am room by room changing some to peck stapled under floor. I am planning to keep some rads so will have 2 zones (up & down) With 2 zones (rads & floors heat). Any help and information would be awesome. I’ve been looking around here and you guys really know your stuff! I’m so glad to have found you!! Thanks In Advance!
Melissa

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Sun. Oct. 31, 2021 12:17 pm

Welcome.