EFM 520 decreasing hot water supply,

Hankster
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by Hankster » Thu. Feb. 18, 2021 7:53 pm

I'm new to this but have been using coal stokers my entire life. Twelve years ago I purchased a new EFM 520 coal/oil furnace and it's always worked perfectly providing all the warmth and hot water we could use. We just had two new bathrooms installed 6 months ago, now just recently we noticed we have very little hot water available to use for our grandkids to take baths. it only last a few minutes at hot the rapidly gets cold. It never did that before and we never were able to turn the shower on full blast hot but now we do to finish our showers. Now the question, is my hot water coil going bad or is there something else I should be looking at? The plumber who installed my furnace worked for a local oil supply company and has retired and they have young service guys who are unfamiliar with this furnace. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated..

coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by coaledsweat » Thu. Feb. 18, 2021 8:20 pm

The coil could have lime scale building up on tbe inside of the tube. It can be removed with an acid wash but best to have someone who knows what he's doing.

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Thu. Feb. 18, 2021 9:01 pm

Welcome. Assuming you have not changed any of the settings on the stoker or aquastat, I think you have a mixing valve that is stuck and needs to be cleaned, and/or a coil that needs to be cleaned.

Holdencoal

Post by Holdencoal » Thu. Feb. 18, 2021 9:09 pm

If the coil is more then ten years old, just change it out with a new one.

LouSee
Stoker Coal Boiler: '57 EFM DF'd 520
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Independance
Coal Size/Type: Buck & Rice

Post by LouSee » Thu. Feb. 18, 2021 10:14 pm

hard water, soft water?