Can I Add an Oil Gun to an Existing Keystoker A150?

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
Post Reply
szembek
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue. May. 08, 2007 2:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A120
Location: Upstate, NY

Post Mon. Jul. 21, 2008 11:35 am

I put in a new keystoker A150 forced air unit last year, and it worked great. I have an older oil furnace also in the basement that I use in mild weather, and as a backup unit. At the time I bought the keystoker I didn't realize that there was an option to get an oil burner on the coal furnace. So I am wondering, can I buy an oil burner and install it on my existing a150, or are the ones that come with the burner designed differently?

User avatar
coal berner
Member
Posts: 3591
Joined: Tue. Jan. 09, 2007 12:44 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1986 Electric Furnace Man 520 DF
Stove/Furnace Make: Electric Furnace Man
Stove/Furnace Model: DF520
Location: Pottsville PA. Schuylkill County PA. The Hart Of Anthracite Coal Country.

Post Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 4:13 am

Do you have a cover Plate on the side if so there will be a hole for the oil gun so Yes you could if you do not have one
well it would be no you can't look for it open the viewing door and see if you see a Plate on the other side
J.C.

Heating house & water with a 1986 electric furnace man DF520 using buckwheat Anthracite coal

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

szembek
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue. May. 08, 2007 2:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A120
Location: Upstate, NY

Post Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 9:10 am

Ok, I'll look into it. My current oil boiler is still working, but I'm kind of kicking myself for not getting a combo unit, since it would eliminate a chimney and allow me to clear out a large space in the basement where the oil burner is. If it were just a matter of whether or not the mounting plat was there though, it would seem like something that could still be installed, you'd just have to cut a hole for the burner.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”