Best coal boiler for hydronic in floor heating

Redkeck
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaskan Gnome
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by Redkeck » Mon. Feb. 18, 2019 11:39 am

Hello!! I’m new to the group. I have been burning coal in an Alaskan Gnome for 8 years. Love it!! I’m in the process of building a new home. I will be installing in floor heating in the 1800sqft main floor, full basement and 900sqft attached garage. We will have a propane boiler and the coal boiler. From what my hvac guy is telling me, in floor heating runs at 120°. Most everything I’ve seen or read shows everyone running the boiler at 160°- 180°. I’m looking at the Harmon VF3000, LL WL110 and Keystoker KA6. ( I have dealers withing a hour from my location. ) Any advice or experience would help. Thanks in advance.

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Mon. Feb. 18, 2019 11:49 am

180*F water is PERFECT!
Returning water (cooler) gets mixed or blended into the boiler's 180 out going supply to be exactly 120*F water all day long...and you still have 180 for other hotter loops to use. ;)

nepacoal
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-4 / "Kelly" and an EFM 520 at my in-laws
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Harman SF-260 - retired
Coal Size/Type: Buck

Post by nepacoal » Mon. Feb. 18, 2019 11:53 am

We love our Keystoker kaa-4. Proven design with great customer support. BTW, you still run the boiler at 160 to 180 but use a mixing valve to send 120 deg water to your in floor radiant runs. A modern, just built house with 6" walls can probably be heated with a 60 watt bulb or two, right?

StokerDon
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Gentleman Janitor GJ-5, Van Wert VA-600, Axeman Anderson130 X3.
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500 reduced down to 3 grates connected to its own plenum