Immersion Well Top of Boiler Supply

Post Reply
User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post By: skobydog » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 3:46 pm

Is it acceptable to add an immersion well into supply line on boiler?

I don't have anywhere to put one. I have the tee that comes out of the top of the boiler that could work, I just haven't seen it done like this anywhere. I just want to a well for a hi limit cut off.

20180216_153919.jpg
20180216_153952.jpg

nepacoal
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed. Nov. 21, 2012 7:49 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-4 / "Kelly"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Harman SF-260 - retired
Coal Size/Type: Buck
Location: NEPA

Post By: nepacoal » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 3:57 pm

The Keystoker boiler manual shows the 4006b being installed in a tee off of the supply pipe...

User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post By: skobydog » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 4:10 pm

nepacoal wrote:
Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 3:57 pm
The Keystoker boiler manual shows the 4006b being installed in a tee off of the supply pipe...
There it is :) thanks
tee.jpg

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

waldo lemieux
Member
Posts: 2275
Joined: Sun. Sep. 30, 2012 8:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: s-20
Location: Ithaca,NY

Post By: waldo lemieux » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 5:27 pm

That should work just fine. I dont think it will obstruct flow .... or trap air.... hmmmm

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 4430
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959Axeman Anderson130M, 1991Axeman Anderson130M, BairMatic BMC-500/Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671SU/EFM S-15 stoker, 2xVan Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Pea, Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post By: StokerDon » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 7:21 pm

The supply pipe right on top of the boiler is actually a good place to put a high limit aquastat. There it will see the hottest water temperature. That Tee you are referring to is actually in the bypass loop. It should still work fine as long as you keep the bypass valve open.

It's important to remember that different parts of the boiler are at different temperatures. On this one, the triple aquastat well is on the side that the return water comes into. This is where it will see some of the cold water returning into the boiler giving the stoker a head start on a heat call.

-Don

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 9484
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post By: franco b » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 9:58 pm

The aquastat in the manual is a B, which is a reverse aquastat.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post By: skobydog » Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 11:06 pm

Thanks everyone.

I actually came across some surface mount temp controllers that were inexpensive so I'm going to use those. I bought two because they can be wired for either make or break on rise. I'll use one for high limit and the other to shut the boiler down if I ever have an outfire/timer issue. :)

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 15344
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW), ComfortMax 75
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post By: lsayre » Sat. Feb. 17, 2018 5:46 am

I didn't have any unused tappings, so that is where I placed my LWCO unit.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 7230
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: RICE,PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE and EGG / BIT
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post By: McGiever » Sat. Feb. 17, 2018 7:58 pm

skobydog wrote:
Fri. Feb. 16, 2018 11:06 pm
Thanks everyone.

I actually came across some surface mount temp controllers that were inexpensive so I'm going to use those. I bought two because they can be wired for either make or break on rise. I'll use one for high limit and the other to shut the boiler down if I ever have an outfire/timer issue. :)
What will be the differential? fixed or adjustable?

Don't know where you will place these at...

Timers can fail a couple different ways...steady off or steady on.

Are you okay w/ cooling back down after after a HH/L shut down and back to running again? Or will you series both together to prevent this?

For a timer issue and both switchs not wired in series, it is best to have a "manual reset" with the controller or it will resume pushing coal on it's own again after cooling down. I guess if you were sensing flue pipe temps for out-fire no manual reset is needed on a cold flue.

Out-fire controller will need to be temporarily bypassed in order to start from a cold boiler too.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”