EFM DF520 Install

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3252
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 7:47 pm

myers007 wrote:I just checked with a meter and yes I have power across 1 and 2 this is odd I know I tested and this did run.

I guess I will pull it from my board and check inside to see of something got loose.
Sounds like the clock motor got stuck. It's new timer time. If it stopped running when it it was on a timer cycle, it would run the boiler/stoker on the HI limit. If you have no HI limit wired in, you would have big problems.

That's a shame, It looked really good with it's new paint job.

-Don
There are few problems in life that cannot be solved by lighting something on fire.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Apr. 03, 2017 6:34 am

A faulty timer can cause a lot of frustration.

If you are shopping for a replacement, an Intermatic C8835 or C8865 would work well.

https://www.zoro.com/intermatic-timer-cycle-1-pole-c8835/i/G2505492/?q=c8835

lzaharis
Member
Posts: 1057
Joined: Sun. Mar. 25, 2007 8:41 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-4-1 dual fuel boiler
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: kerosene for dual fuel Keystoker
Location: Ithaca, New York

Post Mon. Apr. 03, 2017 9:29 am

I agree with that having dealt with timer motor failure.
Having a spare timer motor for the Intermatic 30 Minute
Timer is good piece of mind and can be purchased from
most electrical supply retailers.
My replacement motor was less than $30.00 with tax.

Be sure sure to pencil or paint in marker line on the yellow
clock face and the metal mounting plate it is attached to
and it is easier to check to see if it is moving.

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Mon. Apr. 03, 2017 8:10 pm

Rob R. wrote:A faulty timer can cause a lot of frustration.

If you are shopping for a replacement, an Intermatic C8835 or C8865 would work well.

https://www.zoro.com/intermatic-timer-cycle-1-pole-c8835/i/G2505492/?q=c8835
Thanks Rob you must have been reading my mind I was going ask the forum if anyone new of replacement once I got home.

I am checking on these units looks like they use tripper tabs?

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Apr. 03, 2017 8:25 pm

Yes. You add to remove tabs to adjust the on time. Very simple.

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Mon. Apr. 03, 2017 8:37 pm

Rob R. wrote:Yes. You add to remove tabs to adjust the on time. Very simple.
Cool this should work ....Thanks

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Tue. Apr. 04, 2017 8:03 pm

I was looking at my setup to see how I was going to wire up the Intermec timer I was going to buy and I thought of an idea.

I could use the TT on the Hydostat since I am using the TT on my Taco zone controller and I could get by on a much simpler timer has anyone done a setup like it?

Mark

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Apr. 04, 2017 8:19 pm

What kind of timer did you have in mind?

If you want to cycle the stoker via the TT terminals, you will not be able to use the fuel-saving features of the Hydrostat.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Tue. Apr. 04, 2017 8:52 pm

Rob R. wrote:If you want to cycle the stoker via the TT terminals, you will not be able to use the fuel-saving features of the Hydrostat.
Yes I did not think of that it would mess of the fuel saving features of the Hydostat your are right....

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Apr. 04, 2017 9:05 pm

I have installed 5 EFMs, and have used 5 different timers. I think the Intermatic is the simplest, and reasonably priced.

I like the 60 minute one, that way you can run a longer cycle in the winter (if you want).

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Wed. Apr. 19, 2017 10:01 pm

I just tested my counter for feed rate. I need to make a bracket but this test and it seems to work as I wanted to.

Here is some pictures from a short video of my test.
Snapshot 1 (4-19-2017 9-46 PM).png
This is the proxy that reads the count.
Snapshot 2 (4-19-2017 9-47 PM).png
The counter that reads signal from the proxy and counts the feed rate.

I will see if I can upload the video.

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Wed. Apr. 19, 2017 10:06 pm

Here is a short video of it in operation.
Counter.wmv
(13.13 MiB) Downloaded 36 times

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Thu. Apr. 20, 2017 6:13 am

Neat!

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Mon. Apr. 24, 2017 8:50 pm

I am adding a new high limit Aquastat L4006A and since I need to add a well to the boiler I was thinking of moving the Hydrostat to the front left and put the L4006A on the back.

Having the Hydrostat in front this should work and temp should not be that much different right?

The reason why would do this is I am using the remote setup on the Hydrostat and this would give me a little extra slack on my wire for the Hydrostat.

Thanks

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Apr. 24, 2017 9:11 pm

If you are using the tankless coil, the Hydrostat should be located in the back.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”