EFM DF520 Install

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11496
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Mar. 12, 2017 7:38 am

Looks good so far.

Set the feed on 5 clicks and the air on 4.5, crank up the heat in the house and use a bunch of hot water. This should give the stoker a nice long burn, and will cure the paint on the base and fire door. Depending on the heat load of your house, you may be able to go back to 4/4 afterwards.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

waldo lemieux
Member
Posts: 2262
Joined: Sun. Sep. 30, 2012 8:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: s-20
Location: Ithaca,NY

Post Sun. Mar. 12, 2017 7:47 am

Congratz, I will never get tired of looking at that machine do its thing, and its nice that the wife can appreciate it as well. You did a great job.....

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4710
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507 on standby
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Sun. Mar. 12, 2017 7:55 am

Nice job! Nothing like the thrill of that first fire in a newly installed boiler!

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8331
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Sun. Mar. 12, 2017 10:17 am

Looks great!!!

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3288
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Mar. 12, 2017 12:20 pm

Another one comes to life!

Nice look'in boiler there Myers!

-Don

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Sun. Mar. 12, 2017 8:50 pm

StokerDon wrote:Another one comes to life!

Nice look'in boiler there Myers!

-Don
Thanks Don.... It feels good to get it online and having it make heat.

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Fri. Mar. 24, 2017 10:30 pm

I am planning on adding the timer to the EFM have not needed so far but now that it is getting warmer out side I think it would be good to have.

It was a bit rusty
IMAG00035.jpg
A little paint and good as new
IMAG00043.jpg
I am also going to add a new HydroStat 3250 this weekend and I want to add tie into the HydroStat
WP_20170213_002.jpg
I should be able to take the #4 to the ZR on the HydroStat I am only using the timer as a timer has anyone hook one of the Honeywell timers to the HydraStats?

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11496
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sat. Mar. 25, 2017 7:15 am

I should be able to take the #4 to the ZR on the HydroStat I am only using the timer as a timer has anyone hook one of the Honeywell timers to the HydraStats?
Yes, that is how you need to hook it up. You will also need to flip the little switch in the top right (top right corner of the circuit board) of the Hydrostat to "Indirect Mode".

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Sat. Mar. 25, 2017 1:38 pm

Rob R. wrote:
I should be able to take the #4 to the ZR on the HydroStat I am only using the timer as a timer has anyone hook one of the Honeywell timers to the HydraStats?
Yes, that is how you need to hook it up. You will also need to flip the little switch in the top right (top right corner of the circuit board) of the Hydrostat to "Indirect Mode".
Thanks Rob for information I thought I was on the right track but it's good to confirm it and I forgot about the indirect mode switch.

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 2:11 pm

Does anyone know if you have power to the Honeywell 883B timers it should be running the motor for the timer I think I have one that is DOA.

I had tested it before and it did run but I get nothing now.

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3288
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 4:19 pm

myers007 wrote:I had tested it before and it did run but I get nothing now.
Your get nothing now, as in, the timer doesn't run the stoker, OR the clock motor in the timer doesn't run?

If you have the timer run through a HI limit, the stoker won't run if the boiler is above the HI limit.

If the clock motor in the timer is not connected to a constant hot and neutral, it won't work right.

-Don

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 5:09 pm

Don it is connected to constant hot and neutral and the clock motor is not running the high limit should not affect the clock only the relay for the stocker right.

Mark
Last edited by coaledsweat on Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Sorry boss, I had to fix it :)

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11496
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 5:30 pm

If there is power to the timer, the clock motor should run.

Just for fun, have you verified power across terminals 1 and 2 in the timer?

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 6:01 pm

Rob R. wrote:If there is power to the timer, the clock motor should run.

Just for fun, have you verified power across terminals 1 and 2 in the timer?
No but I will I check that but a test where I ran a pig tail cord plugged into wall out let wired to the 1 and 2 on the timer and it did not run.

myers007
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Jul. 17, 2015 7:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: V & E coal Sotker never used EFM 520 coal stoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Eshland C40 boiler coal, wood and electric
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar fire palce insert
Coal Size/Type: Nut and rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler
Location: Newburg Pa

Post Sun. Apr. 02, 2017 6:11 pm

I just checked with a meter and yes I have power across 1 and 2 this is odd I know I tested and this did run.

I guess I will pull it from my board and check inside to see of something got loose.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”