KA6 Left/Right Configuration

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
User avatar
Yanche
Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Pea
Location: Sykesville, Maryland

Post Sat. May. 17, 2008 8:39 pm

Any open flame appliance is prohibited by codes in a garage. Gas hot water heater, solid fuel stove, etc. To put it in a garage you need a room type enclosure (floor to ceiling walls) with adequate clearances to the appliance plus combustion and venting air inlets to outside. There is some leeway on the sizing of the vents when the room is large enough.
Yanche
Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Stoker Boiler burning Anthracite Pea Coal

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Complete Heat
Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu. Mar. 09, 2006 9:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Axeman-Anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: AA-130/FHA
Location: Nashua, NH
Contact:

Post Sun. May. 18, 2008 2:32 am

I am a Keystoker dealer. When Keystoker refers to a left or right configuration, visualize yourself with your chest against the end of the hopper. If you want the doors on your left, then it is a "left sided" stove, and same for the right.

Mike
Heating with coal, driving with waste vegetable oil. Screw OPEC.

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Sun. May. 18, 2008 7:52 am

:doh: NFPA 211 12.2.4 Solid fuel burning appliances shall not be installed in any garage. :doh:

Thanks, Yanche, really, better to find out now than later. I live to keep the government and my insurance carriers happy. I'm sure there's many the fool who's driven their vehicle into furnaces.

Thats a budget buster and I was already on a shoestring. I see my options, now, as walling off a mechanical room in the garage (with access from the exterior) or a prefab shed.

Time to regroup and reconsider. I have 210 halves of chicken to cook, that'll promote some inspiration :P

Rick
:blowup:
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Sun. May. 18, 2008 9:27 am

In my area there is no restriction on solid fuel devices that I know of, but there is a restriction on the height of any standing flame or heating flame.. it must be at least 14" above the floor.. The reason being gasoline fumes that stay on the floor because the fumes are heavier than air. I have a propane hot water heater in my garage that is for both baseboard heating and hot water in my Mom's apartment. I have this heater raised up on a 2x12 platform. so the standing pilot light is about 16" above the floor.

Rick,, check with your local building code inspector and with your insurance company,, usually just some air venting or a raised platform are all that are needed. But if you can add a 'dog house' on the side of the gargage to enclose the boiler this might even be better.

Where there is a will, there is a way !!

Greg L

.
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Mon. May. 19, 2008 6:56 pm

Never give up, Greg :up:

I'm picking up the permit application tomorrow.

Rick
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

User avatar
beatle78
Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 1:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker KA-4
Location: Rhode Island

Post Wed. May. 21, 2008 8:52 pm

218BEE, So what did you find out at your town hall?

I have a neighbor, I've been advising him on installing a coal boiler in his garage. I haven't our local building inspector yet.

Thanks,
Jeremy

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Wed. May. 21, 2008 10:52 pm

Jeremy,

The Town requires the unit be placed 18" off the floor and inspection after installation. I have to clarify whether thats the base or clearance to the stoker which is 20" above the unit base, either way I can make it work. I'm going to put a knee wall in to partition off a portion of the garage space (it's also one wall of the bin) and install removable wheel stops so the cars will be parked precisely.

I was told to pay particular attention to the manufacturers clearances to combustibles.

The KA6 was picked up at the factory by my dealer today, his deposit is going out in tomorrows mail :D

Rick
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12710
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 2:48 am

218Bee wrote:The Town requires the unit be placed 18" off the floor
If you need to put it on a larger base that's going to raise the hopper quite a bit, They are about the level that its just high enough so its not too high. In the event If you do have to do that.... it's not and absolutely bad thing. I'm pretty sure there is no bottom on the base, that's how ours is. The ash tub sits on the concrete floor of the basement. What you could do is build it on a few courses of block put some rails where the concrete floor should be where you slide the ash tub in and out. This will allow for an overflow of ashes into the block base. Just make door somewhere for access into the base to clean it out. You could even make it so a few tubs fit into so any overflow from the regular tub goes right into them.

If I was going to install a new stoker boiler I would actually do this on purpose but I'd be putting in a auger feed one so the height of the hopper isn't an issue. With a setup like that and a big enough coal hopper to feed the auger you could have a unit that could go for a very long time without the need for filling coal or taking out the ashes.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Yanche
Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Pea
Location: Sykesville, Maryland

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 11:12 am

218Bee wrote:Jeremy,

The Town requires the unit be placed 18" off the floor and inspection after installation. I have to clarify whether thats the base or clearance to the stoker which is 20" above the unit base, either way I can make it work.
Rick
It likely means the distance above the floor where there could be a flame or other ignition source. For a coal appliance you would have to consider where hot burning coals might fall. The idea of raising the entire unit and creating additional ash area might not work if you consider a hot coal might fall below the required distance.
Yanche
Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Stoker Boiler burning Anthracite Pea Coal

User avatar
beatle78
Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 1:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker KA-4
Location: Rhode Island

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 2:43 pm

Yanche wrote:It likely means the distance above the floor where there could be a flame or other ignition source. For a coal appliance you would have to consider where hot burning coals might fall. The idea of raising the entire unit and creating additional ash area might not work if you consider a hot coal might fall below the required distance.
Yanche, isn't your AHS-S130 in your garage? If it is, what did you do?

User avatar
beatle78
Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 1:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker KA-4
Location: Rhode Island

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 2:44 pm

218Bee wrote:Jeremy,

The Town requires the unit be placed 18" off the floor and inspection after installation. I have to clarify whether thats the base or clearance to the stoker which is 20" above the unit base, either way I can make it work. I'm going to put a knee wall in to partition off a portion of the garage space (it's also one wall of the bin) and install removable wheel stops so the cars will be parked precisely.

I was told to pay particular attention to the manufacturers clearances to combustibles.

The KA6 was picked up at the factory by my dealer today, his deposit is going out in tomorrows mail :D

Rick
Rick,

Are you going to have them clarify the 20" above the surface requirement? If so, can you relay that info to me when you get it?

Thanks,
Jeremy

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 7:43 pm

I sure will, Jeremy. I'll nail it down when I submit the app next week.

This weekend will be spent hoeing out the garage. Anybody have an excavator I can borrow? This work always go easier with a big yellow machine.

Rick
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

User avatar
beatle78
Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 1:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker KA-4
Location: Rhode Island

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 8:52 pm

218Bee wrote:I sure will, Jeremy. I'll nail it down when I submit the app next week.

This weekend will be spent hoeing out the garage. Anybody have an excavator I can borrow? This work always go easier with a big yellow machine.

Rick
thanks, ummm did I miss something. What do you need to hoe out the garage for?

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 10:09 pm

What do you need to hoe out the garage for?
New England pack rat syndrome (or we were going to have a yard sale but it never happened).

Life happened and I stored it in the garage. Nothing a long weekend and a pickup won't cure.

Rick
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

User avatar
Yanche
Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Pea
Location: Sykesville, Maryland

Post Thu. May. 22, 2008 11:03 pm

beatle78 wrote:
Yanche wrote:It likely means the distance above the floor where there could be a flame or other ignition source. For a coal appliance you would have to consider where hot burning coals might fall. The idea of raising the entire unit and creating additional ash area might not work if you consider a hot coal might fall below the required distance.
Yanche, isn't your AHS-S130 in your garage? If it is, what did you do?
Yes, it's in a garage but my garage is built like what's called a bank barn around here. Built into a hillside with one wall of the basement exposed. It's two stories 25 x 54, all block, with steel T bar trusses on one foot centers supporting the concrete floor of the second story four car garage. The AHS boiler is in the basement. There is a garage door in the basement but I don't keep autos there. I think the hazard of autos in a garage with flame appliances is reduced with the current gasoline emission vapor recovery fuel tanks. But the codes are unlikely to make any concessions. I once saw a house with an attached garage go up in flames when a motorcycle tipped over spilling gas and the natural gas hot water heater then came on. The fire house was 1/2 mile away and they arrived within minutes but it was too late. The house was torn down in rebuilt on the same foundation.
Yanche
Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Stoker Boiler burning Anthracite Pea Coal

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”