EFM 520 Auger Problems

flealie

Post by flealie » Mon. Feb. 17, 2014 9:59 am

I have been burning a 520 boiler now for about 6 years. This year I installed the longer bin auger on my system. Previously I had it set up just as it was when I bought it (used) which was with just the pot auger. The new longer auger has been real nice as it totally eliminated any odors and is just all around a better set up.

Now here is the problem. Thursday of last week the pot auger (new this year) broke in half right at the beginning of the flighting. I took it out the the shop, welded it back together and reinstalled. During the reinstallation it went up the auger pipe and through the pot with no problems but it was a bit high (about 3/4") of the hole where it goes through the casting of the "blower/gearbox assembley". I was able to get it through the hole and the unit ran great for another two days until it sheared the auger again. This time right where the roll pin goes through the bushing. I am not sure why the cotter pin that couples the gearbox to the auger does not shear but I am thinking something else is going on. Possibly an aligment problem? Anyone have any ideas?

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Mon. Feb. 17, 2014 10:08 am

The cotter pins are not supposed to break, there is a shear pin at the very end if the clutch shaft that should break first. At the square end of the shaft, there is a round hub surrounding the shaft, the shear pin joins the hub to the shaft. Perhaps someone replaced the shear pin with a nail or something similar.

Did you check the pot bushing when you had it apart? Did things spin smoothly and easily?

Are your auger pipes fitted tightly together inside the coupler? If not, that is a common reason for shearing pins, especially with buck size coal.

JRDepew
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350

Post by JRDepew » Mon. Feb. 17, 2014 10:13 am