KA6 Coking up in the Grates

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 7:22 am

There is an adjustment bar on stoker for allowing how thick of coal gets pushed to grate...it is easy enough to adjust...surprised no one has mentioned it. :roll:

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 7:27 am

Someone posted that moving that bar is not easy

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 7:27 am

Someone posted that moving that bar is not easy

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 7:56 am

Carbon12 wrote:Someone posted that moving that bar is not easy
So, since it's hard... Forget about it??? :wtf:
Last edited by McGiever on Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 7:58 am

No, but it was suggested that it was not something to try during the burning season incase some bolt or such broke. I was ready to give it a try until the experienced poster dissuaded me :D

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:01 am

Empty hopper should be all that's required. ;)
Suppose to be Anti-Sieze on them bolts...Right?
Last edited by McGiever on Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:08 am

I think it was Whistlenut that strongly advised against it. Something about seized bolts and PIA repairs.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:09 am

My coal cakes are not resulting in any backup on the grate. No coal spilling over so I'm not too concerned at this point.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:13 am

the main thing I don't understand is I've been burning this thing nonstop since last November when I installed it. I feed my domestic hot water even all summer and have never had this problem until about 3 weeks ago. Its coal that has been in my been since probably this time last year but my basement is as dry as can be so I don't think it's a moisture issue with the coal. why the sudden change? I'm sure it's mixed some because there is coal from harmony that I had put on top of Blaschak coal. as far as the test I did with buckwheat coal I'm not 100 percent satisfied with because it was only half a hopper full I tried my test with. it also coked up but I'm sure my settings weren't perfect for that type coal.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11522
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:21 am

BennyLumpkin wrote:I think you didn't understand my post. With buck I was at 5 or 6 turns as the manual states. With rice I'm between 10-12 just like the manual says. I got the manual out last night when I have the buck a trial run to make sure it was set right
Not sure which version of the manual you are reading, but the current one recommends 10 turns for buck.
BennyLumpkin wrote:there is coal from harmony
I think that is a big part of it. I burned their coal for a few weeks and couldn't believe the clinker tower my EFM produced with it. I ended up turning the air way down and it still produced clinkers, but they were small enough that it didn't cause any problems.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:26 am

Best I can offer is this, you need to cut back the big fan combustion air...NOT the little fan.
You do know the difference in the two, don't you?

Some Keystoker Owners don't even know where the big fan air adjustment is. :|
Last edited by McGiever on Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:27 am

I've tried that. Didn't make any difference.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:28 am

I misplaced my manual so I downloaded one online and those are the numbers it gave me. My local super has Blaschak and I don't think I want it again. Not sure where to go now. I can haul 5 ton at a time myself. Harmony wasn't giving me issues but the Blaschak had better heat but cokes up terribly. .... should I try Direnzo? Atlas? I'm driving from near State College so it's no short drive but I'll do it for good coal. It's a wash price wise since my local guy is 215 a ton delivered if you buy 5 or more tons at a time. Till I drive to get my own and pay fuel it's a wash.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:30 am

Yes I know the difference. .... right now it's completely shut. .... draft is correct and no change. When this all started I had it around half open and it always worked fine.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Feb. 05, 2014 8:35 am

BennyLumpkin wrote:Yes I know the difference. .... right now it's completely shut. .... draft is correct and no change. When this all started I had it around half open and it always worked fine.
Completly closed...that's not possible. You sure you know the difference of the two fans?

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”