Just Lit DF520 : Low Draft-Should a Draft Inducer Be Used

Seven

Post by Seven » Fri. Oct. 11, 2013 9:45 am

Hi all,

This is my second year saving lots of money and living in a more comfortable house and I am still learning and shaking out bugs. I found lots of help here last year.

My manometer (measured at the 8" pipe 2' from boiler) is at .01 when stoker motor is not running and it climbs to .02-3 when it is running.

I get some light smoke/sulfur smell in the boiler room but nothing to ever register on the monitors in the house. I know the manometer readings are low when compared to ideal. Where should I start to look for issues? How should check for leaks?

Has anyone ever used Tjernlund AD-1 Auto Draft inducer? The chimney tops are pretty costly and seem to just run all the time.

Stats:
EFM DF520
rectangler Clay flue approx 7.5x7.5 height is approx. 19-22'
Worcester PA 19490
current weather conditions: 59.5 degrees, pressure at 30", wind at 3.6 mph

Thanks for any suggestions,

Roger

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Fri. Oct. 11, 2013 9:56 am

I know of a few guys using that draft inducer with good results. You would probably be able to wire it just to come on when the stoker runs. You may just be getting a slight puff out the Baro when the stoker starts.

But before you get out the tools, are you sure the fumes aren't coming from the auger? How long is the auger pipe? Are there holes drilled in the end of the pot auger pipe?

Is the base well sealed?

Seven

Post by Seven » Fri. Oct. 11, 2013 10:53 am