Getting Ready to Install LL WL110

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Sun. Aug. 17, 2014 8:34 pm

Don, the only port in this boiler are the two shown in the picture. There is no other place to put the aquastat or the PRV that I see.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3290
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Aug. 17, 2014 9:08 pm

I see what you mean. There are a few pictures of WL110 installs in Pictures of Your Boiler
It's a "pictures of your boiler" thread. It looks like they insatll the aquastat in a port just below the temp gage. At least I think that's and aquastat.

-Don

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10375
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Mon. Aug. 18, 2014 10:37 pm

The small aquastat is the high limit and dumpzone control and is mounted in the outgoing loop. The triple aquastat that controls the boiler / feeder is the one mounted in the front of the coil.

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Tue. Aug. 19, 2014 12:23 pm

Flyer5 wrote:The small aquastat is the high limit and dumpzone control and is mounted in the outgoing loop. The triple aquastat that controls the boiler / feeder is the one mounted in the front of the coil.
Thanks Flyer, so the set up in my picture is okay? Speaking of a dumpzone, I am in the process of figuring out how to address the need for one. I need to keep in simple as that the installation expenses are already way over budge. Any opinions how to economically address the need for a dumpzone?

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Tue. Aug. 19, 2014 1:13 pm

Z10396 wrote:
Flyer5 wrote:The small aquastat is the high limit and dumpzone control and is mounted in the outgoing loop. The triple aquastat that controls the boiler / feeder is the one mounted in the front of the coil.
Thanks Flyer, so the set up in my picture is okay? Speaking of a dumpzone, I am in the process of figuring out how to address the need for one. I need to keep in simple as that the installation expenses are already way over budge. Any opinions how to economically address the need for a dumpzone?
I actually have an idea on how to handle the dumpzone. My home has cathedral ceilings on one side and a landing with a second story on the other. The second story is comprised of the master bedroom which we never use the heat in because of the rising warm air from below. I am thinking that I should set this up as the dumpzone, that zone is never calling for heat anyways. Does this sound practical?

User avatar
Sting
Member
Posts: 2966
Joined: Mon. Feb. 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Other Heating: OBSO Lennox Pulse "Air Scorcher" burning NG
Location: Lower Fox Valley = Wisconsin

Post Tue. Aug. 19, 2014 3:58 pm

You can do anything with enough ice cube relays and a little planning.

you can have every zone in the load circulate if you need it

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Tue. Aug. 19, 2014 5:08 pm

With that said, would using that 3rd "unused zone in my 2nd story serve as an adequate dump zone? If so, how do I go about setting it up?

Boots
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu. Nov. 10, 2011 4:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Burnham SFB 101 (sold)
Location: Central PA

Post Tue. Aug. 19, 2014 5:31 pm

Z10396 wrote:With that said, would using that 3rd "unused zone in my 2nd story serve as an adequate dump zone? If so, how do I go about setting it up?
As long as it's rated at enough BTU's that it meets the manufacturers recommendation for the dump zone, yes.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Sting
Member
Posts: 2966
Joined: Mon. Feb. 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Other Heating: OBSO Lennox Pulse "Air Scorcher" burning NG
Location: Lower Fox Valley = Wisconsin

Post Tue. Aug. 19, 2014 5:57 pm

Z10396 wrote:With that said, would using that 3rd "unused zone in my 2nd story serve as an adequate dump zone? If so, how do I go about setting it up?
you want a signal from the boiler vessel that will start and stop the flow in an over temp Like I attempted to show boots here How Can I Make This Work.

or something similar

It Depends!

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Tue. Aug. 26, 2014 9:59 pm

Finally have it plumbed in, just a little bit of soldering left to do. Then on to the power venter and then the electrical. I know it's not the prettiest install but I am happy with it for a novice. Any advice on my next steps? Thanks
Attachments
image.jpg

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Aug. 27, 2014 7:15 am

Over budget is not a good thing...but saving hundreds and thousands of dollars every heating season will help fade that memory. ;)

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11522
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Aug. 27, 2014 7:52 am

You need to turn the circulator 90 degrees. The motor shaft must be horizontal.

User avatar
Sting
Member
Posts: 2966
Joined: Mon. Feb. 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Other Heating: OBSO Lennox Pulse "Air Scorcher" burning NG
Location: Lower Fox Valley = Wisconsin

Post Thu. Aug. 28, 2014 8:55 am

They never listen - but they can complain when its -20 ---- winds out of the North --- and call me out of bed. :mad:

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Thu. Aug. 28, 2014 5:03 pm

Rob R. wrote:You need to turn the circulator 90 degrees. The motor shaft must be horizontal.
Thank you, I turned it.

Z10396
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 8:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL110
Location: Richford, NY

Post Thu. Aug. 28, 2014 5:56 pm

Sting wrote:You can do anything with enough ice cube relays and a little planning.

you can have every zone in the load circulate if you need it
I think I am going to have it dump and circulate to all three zones. The plumbing is done, now on to the wiring.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”