Base for Stoker Boiler

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
Post Reply
User avatar
nuthcuntrynut
Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed. Jun. 19, 2013 12:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: wl110 leisure line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: ussc pellet stove
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL 110
Location: Ft. Covington, NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 4:00 pm

While waiting on delivery of the boiler I've got the coal bin finsished, complete with drop gate door for pail filling. Pulled all my zone plumbing to new location and controls now I'm wondering on a base. Some folks just use blocks , or patio cubes. I figured on nothing as I have a nice flat dry concrete floor down in the cellar. Some folks say get it off the ground a couple of inches. I may just pour a slab, Any thoughts on this.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11360
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 4:13 pm

4" blocks are a cheap and simple solution. Someday when you have a little water in the cellar you will be glad the boiler is elevated.

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4429
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 4:25 pm

Never on the floor...
Elevate any way you wish...
You could tint the concrete...
To match the Boiler...
I am not an engineer, train or otherwise!
I stay at a Holiday Inn at least once a year!
Most of all I do have common sense and a practical application of logic.
Oh, add humor, on the dry side, along with a wee bit 'o sarcasm.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1845
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 4:31 pm

I have an extremely dry basement and my Buderus oil boiler is off the slab 2 inches. 4 inches should help less bending when checking things out and doing maintenance. Precast pad, 4 inch termite block, or pour a pad.

User avatar
nuthcuntrynut
Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed. Jun. 19, 2013 12:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: wl110 leisure line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: ussc pellet stove
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL 110
Location: Ft. Covington, NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 4:46 pm

precast is how I do most all boilers and furnaces up here, just wanted advice on coal appliances, as this is my first.
i didn't know if it's open on the bottom and may need to be air tight? so blocks would leave small air space?

User avatar
nuthcuntrynut
Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed. Jun. 19, 2013 12:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: wl110 leisure line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: ussc pellet stove
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: WL 110
Location: Ft. Covington, NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:09 pm

coal is ordered too! delivery in two weeks

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

waldo lemieux
Member
Posts: 2261
Joined: Sun. Sep. 30, 2012 8:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: s-20
Location: Ithaca,NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:29 pm

I know that this response will draw fire but..... I used two 4x6 pt rails to allow air underneath. I know its flammable but its more likely monkies will fly outa your butt! Concrete blocks or slabs condensate in humid weather and offer the chance of rust between the base and the slab/block. pt wont do that.... imho
When faced with a seemingly impossible task, my grandfather always said "can't never can, untill try comes along"

User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:30 pm

nuthcuntrynut wrote:precast is how I do most all boilers and furnaces up here, just wanted advice on coal appliances, as this is my first.
i didn't know if it's open on the bottom and may need to be air tight? so blocks would leave small air space?
Its not open on the bottom anymore than a conventional boiler is, so don't worry about that... simply lay down some 2" thick precast solid flats

P/T ive never seen done (that cant be legal :lol: ), paint the concrete with dry lock to match your floor or boiler.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”