New K-6 Leaking???

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
drzbob
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue. Dec. 18, 2012 1:37 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: none
Stove/Furnace Model: none

Post Sat. Mar. 30, 2013 8:53 pm

Hi all. To answer a few questions, yes we have a backflow preventor attached to the water feed. No back flow into the house system. Lines are holding 18 or 17 psi of late with NO WATER ADDED its shut off. The water is clear as crystal, the blood red anti-freeze color is gone, but I have not had a chance to test the water to see if the stuff is still there. When I get the right equipment, I'll let you'll know. Thanks again, bob

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12222
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW)
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Sat. Mar. 30, 2013 8:56 pm

Are you sure you need antifreeze?
-Larry

Democracy rests upon the principle that collective wisdom arises from a pool of individual ignorance. A Republic rests squarely upon objective law, and fundamentally upon those laws which restrict the scope and actions of government.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11350
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Mar. 31, 2013 10:10 am

drzbob wrote:Hi guys; so after some busy times, I've had the water feed to our system shut off, and after 11 days, low in behold the pressure is stable at 20 lbs......... I'm really happy that we have the stable pressure as I think it says we have no leak.
but I'm still puzzled about the loss of color of the anti-freeze in our pipeline. I guess the air in the lines over the first 2-3 weeks caused the pressure to change so much..... Thanks for your reply's. bob
Glad you got it solved...and I bet you are glad you didn't overreact and start threatening the Keystoker guys.

User avatar
331camaro
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu. Jun. 28, 2012 5:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker k6
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: springville, ny

Post Sun. Mar. 31, 2013 10:56 am

myself and a few other guys have similair set ups as yours, with out glycol. I thought I would need it too, but with all the glycol I would need for my system, or a heat exchanger I decided it wasnt worth it.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

drzbob
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue. Dec. 18, 2012 1:37 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: none
Stove/Furnace Model: none

Post Tue. Apr. 02, 2013 10:33 am

Hi Larry, Rob and 331camaro; yes I'm glad we didn't scream at Keystroker and I was cool about the whole situation, but still it had me worried when I tested the water and it was clear as tap water. The whole system was new end of Jan. so we are really newbies to the whole thing (and hydronic heating also). Because the system is out in storage barn that's un-heated, we thought the anti-freeze was needed and had some HVAC folks tell me it was "required". I'm sure its overkill but what's done is done as they say. thanks again bob

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Apr. 02, 2013 12:08 pm

The only time antifreeze is needed would be if you plan on shutting down the coal boiler and letting it get to ambient temp in the winter.
I kind of doubt that you will do that. And even a little bit of antifreeze will prevent a freeze up if the water is circulated. I have antifreeze in my system, but food only to about 18-20*.. If my slab in the shop gets that cold, I have other issues to deal with.. and it can just freeze.. the pex pipe will be fine.
Only the copper and iron pipe would be in danger.

I'd still test a sample of your water, to see if the dye in the water just went clear, or if it is now mostly pure water..

Greg L
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

RICHARD2
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun. May. 04, 2008 1:34 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: KA2
Location: Upstate New York

Post Mon. Apr. 29, 2013 11:38 am

drzbob wrote:..Pic of the pump wall
From the piping of the secondary pumps, it appears your primary loop is pumping TO the remote boiler-- Is that correct, or have I misinterpreted your piping?

Where is your expansion tank? Good hydronic practice locates the primary pump after the expansion tank, so that your are pumping AWAY from the boiler, and TO the secondary loops.

If for other reasons you want to keep the primary pump at the 'pump wall', you can fulfill that requirement by relocating the pump ahead of the first set of secondary 'supply/return close tees' -- i.e., [the pex supply FROM the boiler] > [primary pump] > [the upper copper pipe] > [thermometer] > [tees to Grundfos pump] > etc.
Sometimes a little experience upsets a lot of theory.
Ditto for manufacturer's advertising claims.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”