Blower Trying to Start But Fails On a AHS 130

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
Post Reply
dchartt
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri. Sep. 02, 2011 5:22 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glacier Bay

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 8:33 pm

My fan keeps trying to start but wont commit...overheated? Motor says it will restart itself when its overheated but im not sure if thats the problem yet. I emptied the hopper and cleaned out the fan tunnel any suggestions?

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 8:45 pm

Capacitor start motor?

Your capacitor has taken a crap. ;)

Not committing will cause overheating also.

You can buy another capacitor...take bad one for a match to HVAC/heating service shop or supply house.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

dchartt
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri. Sep. 02, 2011 5:22 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glacier Bay

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 8:54 pm

im the farthest thing away from being an electrician as you can get but that makes sense, thanks Mcgiever

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 9:33 pm

Just maybe it would be a run capacitor, and not a start capacitor...match the new w/ the old, to be sure. :)
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

dchartt
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri. Sep. 02, 2011 5:22 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glacier Bay

Post Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 2:44 am

Ok I work night shift and I will be working on it as soon as I get home and to try and save myself from deconstructing my entire boiler im going to ask the million dollar ? How do I get to the capacitors? Do I have to pull the fan motor out or are they behind panels? I cant tell you right now what fan motor I exactly have its last years 130 model I can post that when I get home in the am

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 10:03 am

Direct drive fan? check for bad bearings. Check for resistance by turning fan by hand. If fan shaft has significate resistance, motor won't start and then overheat.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 3:34 pm

*steamup* makes a excellent point on the bearings...but that's unfortunately a more serious problem and not as easy of a fix. :(

Link to...

capacitor start motor pictures
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

dchartt
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri. Sep. 02, 2011 5:22 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glacier Bay

Post Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 4:31 pm

well I got a capacitor and replaced the old...ran for 30 seconds or so and blew the new one. Called the electric shop back up and he told me to pull the motor and bring it in. Took the motor and fan assembly to him he tore it apart and replaced parts in it, he said he ran it but it was heating up after awhile. Told me it would be one of those things that it might last a week or it might run for a couple years but advised me that I should get a new one. I told him to order me one and he said he would do that but he suggested not ordering a Baldor because they are to expensive, well Id like to keep the brand that came with the coal gun I just purchased a little over a year ago but since it only lasted a year what the heck I figured and told him to order me what he thought would be good.

dchartt
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri. Sep. 02, 2011 5:22 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glacier Bay

Post Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 4:33 pm

O and then the kicker, my boiler is in the barn so I had drained it last night before I went to work to be on the safe side, get the boiler put back together go to add water to the system and come to find out there is a main break down the road and my water is shut off :mad: :mad: :mad:

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”