Keystoker KA-6 Operation Guide.

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 8:12 pm

Learning your Keystoker Ka-6 Boiler and having some questions this post will help you understand certain key elements on it. Reviewing this post should help you to understand the operation of the boiler.

Keystoker has a pre-drilled hole in fire door to check draft. Use manometer to check draft during demand for heat. Draft needs to be -.02
Draft.jpg
Air Shutter (located on bottom of scroll between stoker motor and gear box about ½”)
Air shutter.jpg
Secondary Blower will force a small amount of air through grates at all times, which will cause the ash to become like powder. It also prevents the fire from
going out
Secondary Blower.jpg
Proper sizing of fire is obtained by turning red nut on feed control arm
rednut.jpg
Timer Setting and pin placements is key to keep fire going during idle time.. Less demand for heat ( warmer weather) more pins. More demand for heat( cold weather) less pins needed since demand time will be greater
Timer.jpg
Each timer pin equals 15 seconds
Timer pin.jpg
Proper burn during demand for heat.
proper burn.jpg
Cleaning under grates can be achieve by removing secondary blower. Total of 4 screws.
plate.jpg
Last edited by Wiz on Fri. Feb. 01, 2013 7:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Randy
If you have time to make a post looking for free advice, then show some appreciation and say thank you.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
331camaro
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu. Jun. 28, 2012 5:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker k6
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: springville, ny

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 9:53 pm

Great job wiz. also ive had great response with aqua stat settings of 150 lo 200 hi. never gets below 140 prevents condensation. nice wide span allows for better responses imo. hopefully other members will chime in with settings.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11339
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 10:02 pm

Fantastic post.

Kungur
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu. Sep. 25, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: K-2
Location: Chardon,Ohio

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 10:11 pm

I was wondering if this would also apply to my KAA-2? One thing I think maybe I am messing up with is the # of pins for the Heating Season. I have added pins since Summer. Now I need to dig out the manual and see where I went wrong!

User avatar
sterling40man
Member
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat. May. 03, 2008 11:52 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker K6
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Northern Maine

Post Fri. Feb. 01, 2013 8:57 am

Outstanding Wiz!! :clap:
"I think the next best thing to solving a problem is finding some humor in it."

Bob

User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2266
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-Vigilant-II), D.S. 1600 Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: MANY (Mostly when burning wood)
Location: Near Dansville, NY

Post Mon. Feb. 04, 2013 7:35 am

Kungur wrote:I was wondering if this would also apply to my KAA-2? One thing I think maybe I am messing up with is the # of pins for the Heating Season. I have added pins since Summer. Now I need to dig out the manual and see where I went wrong!
Whooooo there Kungur. Slow down.... No need to dig out manual. The Kaa-2 runs just the opposite on timer pins. I don't think it was engineered to be run the opposite of other stoker boilers but, that's how it needs to be run. The Kaa-2 needs a hotter fire (more pins) for quicker recovery, due to it's smaller 24 gallon water capacity. You're not wasteing coal during no call for heat, as the heat is being stored in the water. Unless the space to be heated is really really small, and well insulated, the Kaa-2 needs to be run on the timer during the cold months. This time of year, I'm running 3 groupes of 5 pins, and 3-3/4 turns counter clockwise on the stoker ajustment. Water capacity is why I think KEYSTOKER should have NOT done away with the Ka-4. Instead, they done away with Ka-4, and come out with the smaller Kaa-2 to take it's place. Oliver PS: By the way Wiz, Very Nice!

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11339
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Feb. 04, 2013 8:10 am

If the timer cycles don't cause the boiler to overheat during periods of low demand, I would leave it alone.

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Thu. Feb. 07, 2013 7:54 pm

Ka-6 burning Casey Kassa buckwheat coal.. Remember everyone's settings will vary to some degree, make small adjustments to achieve the best burn. Ka-6 is running better since switching to buck.
buckwheat 12.jpg
buckwheat ash.jpg
Randy
If you have time to make a post looking for free advice, then show some appreciation and say thank you.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Zinj
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue. Mar. 05, 2013 7:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Mark III
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman MKIII, Keystoker KA-6
Location: West Hanover, PA

Post Tue. Aug. 13, 2013 10:04 pm

Great post Wiz. Very helpful especially to a virgin KA-6 owner like myself.

tinmanKC10
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri. Dec. 07, 2012 8:45 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KC10
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KC-10 Keystoker
Location: Falls Creek Pa
Contact:

Post Sat. Sep. 14, 2013 6:31 pm

Has anyone adjusted how thick of a coal bed ends up on your grates? Ive seen some keystokers with real thick coal 2"+ beds and some with a 3/4" thin bed. Mine is probably close to 2" and was thinking of trying to thin mine down if possible, not sure what to adjust.
Its never to much, its just more than your used to...
http://www.epsbullets.com

User avatar
331camaro
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu. Jun. 28, 2012 5:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker k6
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: springville, ny

Post Mon. Sep. 23, 2013 7:55 pm

hey tinman, on my ka6, there are 2-5/16 bolts that adjust a bar up and down. never tried it but im sure that would adjust the thickness of the bed. mine was pretty far down to begin with. good Idea. throttle it down even further during fall and spring weeks.

tinmanKC10
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri. Dec. 07, 2012 8:45 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KC10
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KC-10 Keystoker
Location: Falls Creek Pa
Contact:

Post Mon. Sep. 23, 2013 8:00 pm

I found those bolts that adjust a bar like you said, I need to fill my hopper up and run it to see if it thins it down some, mine doesn't need to be that thick.
Its never to much, its just more than your used to...
http://www.epsbullets.com

User avatar
331camaro
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu. Jun. 28, 2012 5:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker k6
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: springville, ny

Post Mon. Sep. 23, 2013 8:19 pm

ya post your results! ill have to tinker with mine too when I fire up, probably soon.

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Mon. Sep. 23, 2013 9:20 pm

Keystoker recommends 1 3/4 -- 2 in opening for throat plate. Post your results, it may help with unburnt coal. Try 1 1\2
Randy
If you have time to make a post looking for free advice, then show some appreciation and say thank you.

bsteckel
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu. Dec. 29, 2011 4:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA600
Location: Effort, PA in the Pocono Mountains

Post Tue. Sep. 24, 2013 7:35 am

nice post Wiz ... very informative for users of the KA-6 ... Wish I had one since you are so close to where I live :D These posts are great for us new to coal.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”