Can I Use 6" Flue on EFM 520?

Post Reply
wdjacobs
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 7:54 pm

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 8:10 pm

I'm thinking of buying a df 520, which recommends an 8" flue. I have 6" round steel flue pipe. Can it be done?

User avatar
Scottscoaled
Member
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue. Jan. 08, 2008 9:51 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520, 700, Van Wert 800 GJ 61,53
Baseburners & Antiques: Magic Stewart 16, times 2!
Coal Size/Type: Lots of buck
Other Heating: Slant Fin electric boiler backup
Location: Malta N.Y.

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 9:34 pm

Yes it can be done. I used 6" for several years until I got the chimney built. It doesn't work good if you are going to use it on higher settings. I used mine on 4 and 5 teeth feed with the same air and didn't have issues until I jacked it up to 6 and above air. You can also get a little help with a draft inducer like several other members are successfully running.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Fri. Feb. 01, 2013 5:28 am

I know it's done. But if you run into a fire code inspector, he will only allow 7" (or larger). It pertains to the BTUH output of your unit, not how well it works in your personal setup.

wdjacobs
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 7:54 pm

Post Fri. Feb. 01, 2013 8:05 am

Thanks for your input - much appreciated!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”