K6 Do Not Keep up With Lower Temperatures in Ny

nunuvero
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 12:33 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: K6
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Coal K b 8 or ka 6
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker B 8 or ka6
Location: Ellenville NY

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 12:04 pm

k6 do not keep up with lower temperatures in ny.
Any help please

Thank you very much

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 12:16 pm

When a boiler won't shoulder the load, the first to questions that come to mind are:

1. Is the boiler running properly and reaching its max potential?

2. Is the boiler large enough for the job?

Please tell us more about what you are trying to do with the boiler (describe the heating load), and how it is currently setup.

This will get the ball rolling:

How many turns of feed are you using?
What size is the coal?
Has the draft been checked?
Is the fire properly adjusted?
Is the boiler clean?

User avatar
mikey55
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed. Jun. 25, 2008 10:32 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: key stoker ka6
Stove/Furnace Model: ka6
Location: fabius new york

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 12:31 pm

I will let the experts on here help you. All I can say is my ka-6 heats my 1700 ft ranch to 70 ,the full basement to 65 (where I have it set) and my hot water. It does this well. But it did take some learning and help from the people on here. Also kept up during this cold snap.

nunuvero
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 12:33 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: K6
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Coal K b 8 or ka 6
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker B 8 or ka6
Location: Ellenville NY

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 1:45 pm

House is an old victorian style, 4400 square feet.

For some reason it was not keeping up with the cold.
It was working fine but last tuesday and wednesday and thursday wouldnt keep it up with temp. Temperature outside was below 0.
i only have one thermostat for the whole house (3 floors). Second and third floor was nice 70's however first floor was reading 50 degrees.

I switch to oil. However I want to change it back to burn coal.
I just want to make sure if there was something that I was doing wrong.

Thank you

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 1:55 pm

Does the house heat properly when you switch to oil?

nunuvero
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 12:33 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: K6
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Coal K b 8 or ka 6
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker B 8 or ka6
Location: Ellenville NY

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 2:04 pm

Yes it does. Even radiators that only stays warm with coal, now it keeps warmer.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 2:24 pm

When you say heat with oil....do you mean use the oil burner on the Keystoker? Or do you use a separate oil boiler?

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 3:17 pm

Rob R. wrote:When a boiler won't shoulder the load, the first to questions that come to mind are:

1. Is the boiler running properly and reaching its max potential?

2. Is the boiler large enough for the job?

Please tell us more about what you are trying to do with the boiler (describe the heating load), and how it is currently setup.

This will get the ball rolling:

How many turns of feed are you using?
What size is the coal?
Has the draft been checked?
Is the fire properly adjusted?
Is the boiler clean?
You need to answer these questions that Rob has asked. Then we'll be able to help you

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

nunuvero
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 12:33 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: K6
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Coal K b 8 or ka 6
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker B 8 or ka6
Location: Ellenville NY

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 10:50 am

Yes I was using the oil burner from keystoker, I have the dual (coal and oil burner)
Now, I switch back to coal. It is running fine, however my old radiators on the second floor are extremely hot, while the radiators on the first floor are only warm.
I am using a rice coal, 7 turns.

Thank you again for all your help

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 10:56 am

7 tuns is a LOT of feed for that stoker. What are you burning for coal?

Any chance the circulator keeps turning on and off via the triple aquastat?

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 11:10 am

I think this is pertinent to your problem...
when exactly did you switch over to burning oil ???
I understand this will have no bearing on which radiators are hotter then the others.. you have indicated that this is the problem no matter what fuel you use.

.. I asked the question WHEN you made the switch only to determine if it is a fair comparison.

was it below 0 outside for days? when you were burning oil also??
... or did you switch to oil as outside temperatures started to increase?

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 12:11 pm

Did you bleed the air out of the lines? . What is water pressure?
7 turns is way to much, I'm surprised hot coals are not falling into ash pan. Is coal wet? My avtar picture is my ka.6 @ 15 turns. Adjust red nut counter clockwise away from boiler. Post pictures during demand

Badog
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2007 3:39 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Liberty
Location: Lehigh Valley Pa.

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 12:17 pm

Is the circulater running? If the highest radiators are hot and heat rises it sounds like the water not being pushed through the system just convection flow of heat.

plumber
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 10:52 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Location: Bridgeton, RI

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 1:11 pm

Radiators? Is your home steam??

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 1:30 pm

Badog wrote:Is the circulater running? If the highest radiators are hot and heat rises it sounds like the water not being pushed through the system just convection flow of heat.
I chatted with him via PM...he had the triple aquastat set at 190/210 and it was continuously kicking the circulator on and off. Without constant flow it acts like a gravity system and the hot water just rises. I asked him to try 140/200 and report back with the results.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”