Here We Go ... Van Wert VA600 Re Do ...

bsteckel
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA600

Post by bsteckel » Mon. Dec. 24, 2012 11:42 am

Finally cleared away enough crap in my garage to start cleaning up my Van Wert. It is a 1985 vintage. I am a 100% coal newbie here getting tired of vomiting when I see that fuel oil delivery slip stuck in the door :mad: Spent a few days cleaning off some surface rust and putting a fresh coat of paint on her. She was in pretty nice shape inside and out.

I have a few questions ... there is a "flange" that bolts to the main unit and then a fire door bolts to that with a sight hole. what seals the flange to the main unit? did not see any signs of a gasket here .. there is a rope gasket that seals the fire door to the flange, though. I also need to replace the rubber gasket on the hot water coil block off plate. Also, the seal that is glued to the ash door fell off and is in bad shape. What kind of seal can I get to replace this? It appears to be a hard woven flat gasket type of material (fiberglass or asbestos ???). There are also spring handles used when taking the fire door off .. can these be purchased somewhere ?? Lastly, is there a seal where the stoker bolts onto the boiler?? no sign of any .. I got the unit with the stoker taken off the boiler already.

Now onto the stoker. There are 2 small cracks in the fire rings. The top ring is not cracked all the way thru, but one of the smaller rings is all the way thru. I believe these are pretty pricey at $600 for the set. What are your thoughts on using them as is? The photos show how grimy the fan housing, gear housing is ... what is the best way to clean this off? was going to suspend the assembly with an engine hoist over a tub and brush down with some type of solvent, repeat, then repaint when done. Any ideas here. What needs to be done with the blower / gearbox as far as maintenance or replacement items. I already have a new electric motor.