Can't Get Enough Heat Out of VF3000

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
User avatar
KLook
Member
Posts: 3632
Joined: Sun. Feb. 17, 2008 1:08 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Harman VF 3000
Coal Size/Type: rice, bagged, Blaschak
Other Heating: Gas boiler backup/main
Stove/Furnace Model: VF 3000
Location: Chattanooga, Tenn

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 8:52 am

I would like him to try some different coal as an above post mentioned.

Kevin

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 9:03 am

I would like him to try some different coal as an above post mentioned.
I'm bad thought he tried that, I agree
Randy
If you have time to make a post looking for free advice, then show some appreciation and say thank you.

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4678
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 9:54 am

I think someone who knows this boiler to check it out in person. I think it's got to be more than just the coal.
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 6:37 pm

BinghamtonNY wrote:Gonna Chime in on this. I have a Magnum stoker and had the exact problem Hillside is having. Just a lazy fire and no heat output. Only variable was I put newly picked up coal in my stove. Same dealer as always just bought it couple months later. Once that coal got onto the fire it just killed it. I checked everything, then checked the coal. It was just COVERED in fines. So my quick solution was to put a drying rack over my ash pan and sift all the fines off it, or as much as I could.It was amazing how much came off the coal. Once that "clean" coal was feed thru it was burning like it normally does. All these symptoms sound all too similiar. Please give that a look...
He says it also...too many fines.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

coalsmoke
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat. Dec. 15, 2012 8:48 am

Post Sat. Dec. 15, 2012 9:01 am

Hillside, I live in Lewistown and have had a vf 3000 for about three years now . I might be able to help you, give me a phone# and we will get together

Hillside
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon. Mar. 07, 2011 10:02 am

Post Fri. Dec. 21, 2012 8:26 am

I want to thank everyone for there help so far... as of now as long as I sift the fines off the coal it has been working but the temps up til now have been above what I was having problems at. So when the temps drop I will let everyone know how it is working..

bde-19547
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu. Sep. 11, 2008 12:08 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VF3000
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000
Location: Oley PA

Post Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 7:30 pm

Well I thought I had things working fairly well till I decided to clean things out under the grates, I shut down, removed the grates cleaned all the fines replaced the grates and have not been able to get heat out of it since especially now that the 10 degree weather hit. I've resorted to sifting the coal to get rid of the fines and it seemed to help a bit but I'm really struggling. The damper in front of the blower has to be almost closed or I get steam coming out the bin (and CO alarm going off). What am I doing wrong, this is my 4th year and so much more difficult than first years. I'm still holding .04 in front of the baro. I'm so frustrated. :mad:
Bryan in Oley

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 7:41 pm

bde-19547 wrote:Well I thought I had things working fairly well till I decided to clean things out under the grates, I shut down, removed the grates cleaned all the fines replaced the grates and have not been able to get heat out of it since especially now that the 10 degree weather hit. I've resorted to sifting the coal to get rid of the fines and it seemed to help a bit but I'm really struggling. The damper in front of the blower has to be almost closed or I get steam coming out the bin (and CO alarm going off). What am I doing wrong, this is my 4th year and so much more difficult than first years. I'm still holding .04 in front of the baro. I'm so frustrated. :mad:
When you see steam coming out of the bin and have CO alarm going off...you surely can not have a draft reading of negative .04 inch water column. It is not possible!

Your vent pipes and chimney needs some cleaning. There is some restriction or blockage there.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

bde-19547
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu. Sep. 11, 2008 12:08 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VF3000
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000
Location: Oley PA

Post Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 8:00 pm

Just remeasured draft with Dwyer #460 air meter, I have .05 at barometric damper, .02 on hole in door, and small amount of steam out of bin.
Bryan in Oley

User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2266
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-Vigilant-II), D.S. 1600 Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: MANY (Mostly when burning wood)
Location: Near Dansville, NY

Post Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 9:16 pm

I feel bad for you. I can not help trouble shoot the VF-3000, as I no nothing about it. I have to say, I'm heating almost as much square feet as you with a smaller boiler. My Kaa-2 will heat my place to where ever the thermostat is set. I have a friend with Harman Mag, which I believe is the same stoker in your VF-3000. He once told me he replaces his grates every year, due to warpage. Are your grates warped? Is air getting around your grates?

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4678
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 10:23 pm

bde-19547 wrote:Well I thought I had things working fairly well till I decided to clean things out under the grates, I shut down, removed the grates cleaned all the fines replaced the grates and have not been able to get heat out of it since especially now that the 10 degree weather hit. I've resorted to sifting the coal to get rid of the fines and it seemed to help a bit but I'm really struggling. The damper in front of the blower has to be almost closed or I get steam coming out the bin (and CO alarm going off). What am I doing wrong, this is my 4th year and so much more difficult than first years. I'm still holding .04 in front of the baro. I'm so frustrated. :mad:
If the restrictor plate on the combustion fan is almost closed and you are getting flue gases out of the hopper, you have a major restriction somewhere in the venting of this boiler. When earlier you said you cleaned out the ash compartment, did you remove the little metal door that slides down over the area where the flue pipe exits? That area will fill up with flyash. Do you have horizontal sections of vent pipe that have not been cleaned?
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

bde-19547
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu. Sep. 11, 2008 12:08 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VF3000
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000
Location: Oley PA

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 6:04 pm

I cleaned the chimney and behind the little metal door that slides down over the area where the flue pipe exits and the horizontal portion of pipe too. Readjusted blower damper for .02 on door and .04 at chimney and still having trouble. Low flame, not enough heat. Any more suggestions?
Bryan in Oley

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4678
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 8:55 pm

Well it was in the 60's today and that does not help your draft. Are you sure your combustion blower is working correctly? Is it fully slid back to its full installed postion? My cousin who uses a vf3000 called me last fall and said his boiler was acting up and not burning right. His combustion blower was only halfway slid back in positon. Other than that it sound slike you might have some bad coal. :?: :?:
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

bde-19547
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu. Sep. 11, 2008 12:08 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VF3000
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000
Location: Oley PA

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 10:41 am

yes the blower is correctly working and in proper position. Question, should I be using 6" or 7" chimney pipe? When first installed, I had 7" pipe and replaced it with 6" last year when the 7" rotted out. I thought since the outlet was 6" that 6" would be OK. It did seam to work better with 7" but there are other changes since then such as coal supplier and wear and tear so I don't know which change caused the problem. I don't know what variables are most critical.
Bryan in Oley

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4678
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Thu. Jan. 31, 2013 11:00 am

I've had 6" on mine since day 1 with no problems. I'm starting to think maybe the coal variable is the reason you are having problems. I've been fortunate to always get good coal. Maybe try some different coal from a known quality source.
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”