A Few Questions...

User avatar
JRDepew
Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri. Feb. 24, 2012 8:35 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Location: Port Crane, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 01, 2012 1:07 pm

Hello again,

I have just gotten my EFM350 plumbed up and have a few questions:

1. For guys who are running their boilers without a jacket, like mine, where are you mounting the WillBurt timer?
2. Should boilers be on their own separate breaker?
3. Can I tie into the oil boiler 115V wiring at a junction box, and add a switch to change from oil to coal?

I may have more questions as I get further along in the install.

Thanks,
Joe

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11501
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 01, 2012 1:18 pm

JRDepew wrote:1. For guys who are running their boilers without a jacket, like mine, where are you mounting the WillBurt timer?
Mine is mounted on a ceiling joist.
JRDepew wrote:2. Should boilers be on their own separate breaker?
From a code standpoint I'm not sure. From a practicality standpoint (you will only be running one or the other), both can run off the same breaker.
JRDepew wrote:3. Can I tie into the oil boiler 115V wiring at a junction box, and add a switch to change from oil to coal?
That's what I did.

User avatar
JRDepew
Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri. Feb. 24, 2012 8:35 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Location: Port Crane, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 01, 2012 3:37 pm

Rob,

Do you have any pictures of your setup online?

Thanks,
Joe

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11501
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 01, 2012 4:35 pm

There are some pictures and videos in my original install thread: It's Alive!

I have a lot of other pictures available, but there are multiple examples of the EFM manual saying one thing and me doing another. :oops:

How about starting a thread to document your install? Pictures are very helpful...if you have specific questions just ask.

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Mon. Oct. 01, 2012 7:34 pm

Look in the efm 520 manual online. It's pretty clearly illustrated for coal/oil switching.

User avatar
JRDepew
Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri. Feb. 24, 2012 8:35 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Location: Port Crane, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Thanks for the information all.

Where can I source an ash pan for the EFM350? I looked at tubs at tractor supply and true value and they are all too big or way too small.

Thanks,
Joe

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11501
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 2:03 pm

How wide is the area that the ash tub sits in?

User avatar
JRDepew
Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri. Feb. 24, 2012 8:35 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Location: Port Crane, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 2:15 pm

Rob,

The max ash pan that I could fit through the door is 9.5" high, 18.5" wide, 20" deep. I modified the base a little when I was fixing it up, and my ash funnel hangs a little lower than intended (and lower than originally on the EFM350). I am thinking about getting a 1 bushel tub and taking 2 inches off the top, but I am still looking for a deeper rectangle/oval tub that will fit.

Dave at AES just lets his ash fall into the base, then he uses a shovel to scoop it out. How many people are doing this?

Thanks,
Joe

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Pacowy
Member
Posts: 2809
Joined: Tue. Sep. 04, 2007 10:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite
Location: Dalton, MA

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 2:24 pm

Joe,

When I had a 900 I let the ash fall into the base. The base holds a lot, so you don't have to empty it as often.

Mike

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11501
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 2:51 pm

JRDepew wrote:How many people are doing this?
Only those that don't mind dust in the boiler room...that might be a tough sell if your basement is even partially finished.

A Dover Parkersburg #0 tub should work.: http://www.bucket-outlet.com/8roundtub.htm

Mark (PA)
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu. Feb. 28, 2008 9:40 am
Stove/Furnace Make: 1953 EFM SF-520 High Boy
Stove/Furnace Model: Fitzgibbon Boiler
Location: South Central, PA

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 8:56 pm

Rob

I was reading the answers to the questions in your post on this thread.

I had to laugh to myself as every answer is the same for me! Maybe a few more below...

Floor joist even! hehe. funny.

on the breaker question I have a switch for that also to switch from Oil to Coal, Only one breaker.

And also a switch for my Taco 503 Relay that controls my 3 water zones.

And Finally Also A switch for Boiler Aquastat override. Only really used on startup for the season so that I can run the blower until Boiler water temp reaches low setpoint and then I switch override off and let Aquastat do the rest.

Once you get it tuned in you'll be ready. In 5 years I have never had 1 outfire. They are awesome machines.

Mark (PA)
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu. Feb. 28, 2008 9:40 am
Stove/Furnace Make: 1953 EFM SF-520 High Boy
Stove/Furnace Model: Fitzgibbon Boiler
Location: South Central, PA

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 8:58 pm

Ash tub... My basement isn't pretty but it certainly cuts down on fly ash when you are cleaning it out by hand versus just pulling out ash bucket... my .02

Pacowy
Member
Posts: 2809
Joined: Tue. Sep. 04, 2007 10:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite
Location: Dalton, MA

Post Tue. Oct. 02, 2012 9:16 pm

When shoveling ash from the base of the 900, I found the chimney draft took care of the ash cloud in the boiler, and laying the shovel in the bushel basket I was using (i.e., don't let the ash drop through the air) produced minimal ash in the room.

Mike

User avatar
JRDepew
Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri. Feb. 24, 2012 8:35 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Location: Port Crane, NY

Post Sat. Oct. 06, 2012 9:06 am

I was given a L6081 Aquastat with this boiler (along with the willburt timer), is this sufficient to run the stoker/circulator? The only diagrams in the EFM manual showing the L6081 are for steam. How would I hook this up?

Thanks,
Joe

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11501
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sat. Oct. 06, 2012 3:58 pm

You could use the L6081 to maintain the boiler at a specific temperature, and have a high limit control to make sure the doesn't overheat from timer cycles...but you can't do that AND control a circulator. If you intend to just circulate 24/7 between the two boilers, that is no big deal...but if you want the circulator to turn on and off with heat calls then it will need to run off a different relay (or get a triple aquastat).

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”