Over Heating, Inefficient Burning, Outfires and Lots of Partially Burned Coal in AHS 130

NWBuilder
Stoker Coal Boiler: Ahs 130
Coal Size/Type: Burning Pea anthracite

Post by NWBuilder » Wed. May. 02, 2012 11:42 am

Hi everyone,
I posted part of my problem before under the heading of to re-light or not to relight? Well, I have a number of issues that may all be related so I will give you all the info and hopefully come up with one solution to fix this system. My plumber hooked up my AHS 130 back in January. It worked well or so I thought, I am new to this so I have nothing to compare it with. I have had my pressure release valve go off 6 times and I have had the fire go out 3 times now. My plumber wanted to keep the space used by the boiler to a minimum so my stove pipe converts from 5inch to 6 inch right at the boiler. To the center of the elbow I have 16 inches of stove pipe then 16 inches to where it exits my home at the thimble. Just enough room for a barometric damper. My manometer has never gone above .06 in the winter but reads around .02 consistently. This time of year it seldom gets off of .00. My Aquastat was set at 180 and my dual aqustat was set at 200 hi and low. My plumber installed another on the main pipe which leads to my oil burner and we set that at 180 and used the second floor as my dump zone. Still got prv releases. The asher was set to 120 with a 10 degree differential. Ahs told me to drop my Aquastat to 170 and the asher differential to 5 degrees. Since then I have been going through 70 to 100 pounds of coal, lots un burnt or partially burnt each day until it went out again on Sunday. When I posted before it was suggested that I install a timer on my blower to fluff the fire every so often. Ahs said that the fire should remain lite with just the hot water call every 24 hours. The last outfire happened in the over night after dish washing and 3 showers. I can't see a need to fluff it after it was cooking along so well and went out in 6 or 7 h