LL110K in the Basement.

dh1200s
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL-110
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS-Tarm 202
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman TLC 2000

Post by dh1200s » Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 11:36 am

I got it delivered on 2/20 and I have PexSupply order coming and I will start to plumb this in shortly.

I’m a DIY plumber so I need plan this out and clean up some of my previous work. I have been reading all of the 110K install/operating post and look forward to
installing and dialing in the blue box. I ordered the 110K with the 5 gpm DHW coil and easy cleanout opt.

I’m the original owner of the house that was built in 1979. It’s 1900 Sq’s standard 2*4 construction with 1” T&G foam sheeting, Pella doors and wood windows with 1” air gap.
Just two zones in the house on Taco ZV’s. I have re-plumbed the down stairs loop to control flow to rooms with limited use.

The 110K will become the primary heating appliance. I have a Harman TLC 2000 in the family room which does a great job but the whole house heat distribution of my
HS Tarm 202 boiler is preferred. I wanted to go the stoker boiler direction to increase burn time between out-fires of the Tarm hand fed. The 110K will be replacing my
original 1979 install Weil McLain boiler. That boiler has been in standby for the past six heating seasons and is very rarely called upon for heat. I did fire it up after 36 hour loss of power
during our hurricane Irene visit for DHW.

The HS Tarm 202 boiler (I installed in 1982) is plumbed in parallel with the WM and will remain operating in parallel with the 110K. Both boilers will be valved for standalone or combined operation.
I hope the extra 24 gal of the Tarm boiler will aid in dialing in the 110K. Three months ago I was running DHW generation electric only with my Rheem Marathon a 50 Gal electric thermos bottle.