Axeman Owners: How Many "Clicks"?

Post Reply
User avatar
Townsend
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue. Nov. 21, 2006 7:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Coal Size/Type: Pea / Buck
Location: Connecticut

Post Wed. Feb. 29, 2012 11:17 pm

I was wondering what others have their ashing arm set to for driving the ash pan gear. How many clicks do you have it set for? Have you experimented with adjustments at all? I had mine set at 2 clicks but recently set it to 3. Hard to really tell with this change in weather.

User avatar
AA130FIREMAN
Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 4:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: axeman anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: 130 anthratube

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 12:35 am

3 , occasionally it will only do 2, when it's 64 years old, it's hard sometimes to count, shaft may not be 100% true, and bushings not as tight as a drum. What will become of me once I hit that age :cry: Once you find a happy :D spot with the adjustments, in my case I keep them the same. No outfires this season and real good results (once an hour for one minute on the timer). I will say the uae harmony coal has alot to do with it. Very little ash,better drafting with less ash, and I don't need to clean the flyash from the stove pipe every 6 weeks like I did the first year.

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6624
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 2:09 am

I keep mine at 2 clicks. It might run a bit longer during extremely cold weather, but it delivers the coal slower so the fire stays higher.

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 9:42 am

Mine is set at 2 clicks. One click under light load would probably be ok. With a heavy load or high ash coal, you may need 3 clicks. Check on how much your ashing solenoid cycles. If it cycles occasionally under load, it is probably ok. If it cycles alot you may be trying to ash too much. If it doesn't cycle, you may be ashing too little. (assuming your anthrastat is calibrated properly).

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 1:53 pm

3-1/2 clicks.. on the pull side of the notched wheel, when the grate is being pulled out from under the fire, and the clinkers are being jammed against the lower lip of the firepot, the linkage rebounds some, resulting in only 3 clicks.. on the push side it's usually 4 clicks.

My solenoid will eventually cycle, if the boiler's run is long enough. but it ashes every time the boiler fires up.

I do tend to get a lot of clinkers, I almost never have an ashpan without 4-6 fist or double-fist sized clinkers. Sometimes a phonebook sized one !! :shock:

I think the clinkers that get caught on the firepot lip, sometimes 'roll' around in the firepot as the grate tries to push them out of the fire.. this 'rolling' I think is one cause of the occassional piece or two of unburnt coal in an otherwise ashpan of nothing but powder and a few large clinkers. I have no way to prove this, but I just can't figure out how a bunch of pieces of perfect, shiney black coal make their way into the ashpan.. and avoid the fire completley..

Greg L.

User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 5:02 pm

This sums it up perfectly.
steamup wrote:Check on how much your ashing solenoid cycles. If it cycles occasionally under load, it is probably ok. If it cycles alot you may be trying to ash too much. If it doesn't cycle, you may be ashing too little. (assuming your anthrastat is calibrated properly).

User avatar
whistlenut
Member
Posts: 3548
Joined: Sat. Mar. 17, 2007 6:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska, EFM, Keystoker, Yellow Flame
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska, Keystoker-2,Leisure Line
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska, Gibraltar, Keystone,Vc Vigilant 2
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Ford, Jensen, NYer, Van Wert,
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwoods
Coal Size/Type: Barley, Buck, Rice ,Nut, Stove
Other Heating: Oil HWBB
Location: Central NH, Concord area

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 8:30 pm

3 clicks for me with the current coal I'm burning. Very typical this part of the winter. That is in 260's, 2 clicks most of the time in 130's. Damned...that 'steamup' doesn't miss anything. Jon is a very clever fellow.....nice guy too! I think he needs a Losch to play with next......perhaps a GJ. :idea: :!:

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sat. Mar. 03, 2012 9:07 pm

1 click... occasionally get 2 clicks in the cycle

burning UAE buckwheat with a light load.

Hold Fire Timer skips running because boiler is sitting above upper high limit alot. Never an out fire though.

Here is a bit of Axeman Trivia for all...It takes 42 clicks to do one complete cycle of rolling grate travel out and back...2 inches each way. ;)
(At least on my 1959 130M it is.)

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Sat. Mar. 03, 2012 11:55 pm

McGiever wrote:1 click... occasionally get 2 clicks in the cycle

burning UAE buckwheat with a light load.

Hold Fire Timer skips running because boiler is sitting above upper high limit alot. Never an out fire though.

Here is a bit of Axeman Trivia for all...It takes 42 clicks to do one complete cycle of rolling grate travel out and back...2 inches each way. ;)
(At least on my 1959 130M it is.)
Ok, Ok - Too much information - Who in the heck sits there and counts how many "clicks" it takes to travel the grate. I guess curiosity got the cat on that one. :crazy:

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Mar. 04, 2012 4:29 pm

steamup wrote:
McGiever wrote:1 click... occasionally get 2 clicks in the cycle

burning UAE buckwheat with a light load.

Hold Fire Timer skips running because boiler is sitting above upper high limit alot. Never an out fire though.

Here is a bit of Axeman Trivia for all...It takes 42 clicks to do one complete cycle of rolling grate travel out and back...2 inches each way. ;)
(At least on my 1959 130M it is.)
Ok, Ok - Too much information - Who in the heck sits there and counts how many "clicks" it takes to travel the grate. I guess curiosity got the cat on that one. :crazy:
:whistle: Sometimes a guy just has too much time on his hands. :roll:

User avatar
Townsend
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue. Nov. 21, 2006 7:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Coal Size/Type: Pea / Buck
Location: Connecticut

Post Sun. Mar. 04, 2012 7:48 pm

Glad you posted that interesting fact McG, I had always wondered about that. :D

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Mar. 04, 2012 8:24 pm

McGiever wrote:
steamup wrote: Ok, Ok - Too much information - Who in the heck sits there and counts how many "clicks" it takes to travel the grate. I guess curiosity got the cat on that one. :crazy:
:whistle: Sometimes a guy just has too much time on his hands. :roll:
Actually, I didn't sit there and count all the "clicks" while firing...I was lubricating the cam followers before it was put into service here, and still had the back plate removed and no coal loaded in burn pot...it was pretty simple to manually ratchet quickly and keep count while starting and finishing at one end of the grate's travel. :D

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”